the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Before and After 649

01.25.2005

7:12 pm

Until yesterday, I was walking around with this on my ears:



The wire went around the back of my head, connecting the two aids. Here's what I've got now:



The beige one is still on my left ear, the silver one is on my right, replacing the old transmitter. The other piece is the remote, which I can wear around my neck on the lanyard, or keep in a pocket, or not use at all, depending on the circumstance.

One of my biggest fears in life, as I've said before, is getting caught in an electrical storm.

I've done another trick or two with the whole contraption, and it does work. The SCM sat at his desk reading something aloud with the remote there, and I could hear him all over the library, in the other room, and so on. I heard conversation at the lunch table that I wouldn't have heard before. I'm on my way to working out the cell phone. So far, so good.

They're saying more snow tonight, and maybe into tomorrow. Sucky sucky snow. The Hubs is once again teaching a class in south Jersey tonight, and I would be much happier if he didn't have to drive a distance in this.

Once again today, my dreadful vice-principal was supposed to observe me and she blew it off. That's number three for the year. Perhaps tomorrow, but that would be during a horrible lunchtime class, so let's hope not. Not that I care, really, but if she's going to keep telling me that she has to come and observe me, it would be nice if she did it already and got it over with; I keep giving her my teaching schedule, she just doesn't show up. What a maroon.

Oooh, new Gilmore tonight. I'm so excited I could just plotz.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here