the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Apropos of Nothing 650

01.25.2005

9:20 pm

Second entry of the day. The first one is here.

So when I had my physical on Monday, I said to the doctor, "Oh, I got another tattoo." He took a look at my ankle, and then my wrist. He said, "These are temporary, right? They come off?"

"Oh, no," I said. "They're real."

He looks at me like it's for the first time. (I've been going to this doctor for almost 30 years.) And then he says that he would have figured my sister (whom he also treats) would be more the tattoo type.

What the f---? I'm not saying that I am the tattoo type, whatever that is -- although apparantly, I am -- but the Sibs? Heavens, no! The mere thought would give her hepatitis. Free-spirited, she ain't.

On the other hand, he may be recalling her husband #2, who was himself heavily tattooed, and not in the good way. He had seven or eight, including girls' names which he'd had done over after breaking up, a snake, a Mom, and so on. But his classic were the words "It's all yours" which was tattooed ... well, let's say several ... several ... inches below his navel. If you get my drift. I suppose it was amusing, which is what he meant it to be. He once showed it to my mother, and let me tell you, she was plenty amused.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Scrubs
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here