the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Is It Still Friday? 654

01.29.2005

7:50 pm

I memed myself to pieces yesterday, but this week's Friday Five wasn't posted yet:

1. What blood group are you?

AB+, which is a relatively rare blood type. The Hubs is the same. One of our kids is A, the other one is B.

2. Do you give blood? Why/why not?

I do not. I figure I have enough medical conditions and take enough medications that my blood isn't good for other people.

3. Are you listed as an organ doner? Again, why/why not?

I'm not sure where I would be listed other than on my driver's licence, but I'm listed there. My family knows that all of my organs are up for grabs when I go, if anyone wants them.

4. Would you donate an organ or other part of your body (eg bone marrow) while still alive?

Bone marrow, yes, no problem. Organs are a little different. I don't think I would donate an organ to a stranger, because then what if one of my kids or my niece or nephews needed it? Or the Hubs, since we have the same blood type anyway? I would certainly donate to a loved one, and I would want to be able to. I presume they would certify that my organs were safe for another person to use first.

5. Would you consider leaving your body to medical science? Or maybe just parts of your body?

Donate organs if needed, absolutely. I would not want my body to be used as a medical school cadaver, however, and I think that's where most bodies donated to science end up. If I had a particular medical condition that I was dying of and they could use my body specifically to research that, then maybe.


and a couple of corrections for yesterday, not that it matters, really. Chalk it up to old age.

I believe that I made $1.70 an hour at my first job. I don't know where I got $2.30 from. And that doesn't count babysitting, which paid 50 cents an hour.

I am also not a fan of rap music, and I know next to nothing about it, which is fine by me.


I got so much done today, including playing extensively with my new cell phone, especially the camera. I am so not good with this camera yet. I set up a moblog here; when the pictures are good enough, I can put the most current picture on my template here -- did that make sense? -- but not quite yet.

I watched one whole movie and watched/fast-forwarded two more. The one I watched was the 1987 version, a TV movie, of The Secret Garden. Here's my review: it sucked. A less imaginative movie version of a charming book could not be made. (I actually saw this on TV back when it was on; I didn't like it then, either.) I also tried the 1949 Little Women -- I was not impressed. Why do screen writers feel the need to "improve" a classic? I'm not talking about interpretation; that's the idea. But a change for no reason, except to make a big name star look good or for the director to show what he can do, I don't care for that. Then I watched part of the 1994 Little Women, which is my favorite. I love the way it looks, all warm and cozy.

So I'm taking this online class, and in the grading criteria, it says that you can get the most points for your discussion posting if you respond to something written by one of the other participants. So my question is, who posts first? Looks to me like somebody didn't quite think this through.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here