the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Sunday, Sweet Sunday 655

01.30.2005

8:50 pm

Question: How much do I not want to go to work tomorrow?

Answer: Oh, you know.

The SCM emailed me this morning; he's out tomorrow waiting for someone to come and fix his furnace. So I guess I gotta go. (I was going anyway. I just don't wanna.) My dreaded monthly meeting with the principal and department heads is tomorrow, and to make it worse, the February meeting is in just two weeks. Icky-blicky.

R and I finally tackled the Mountain of Rarely Touched Crap in her room today, and not only did we clear out the whole damn thing, I actually found two wonderful treasures I've been looking for, off and on, for the last several months. The first was my hardcover copy of The Trumpet of the Swan, which I've had since it came out when I was in high school. The second, which was actually on a shelf behind the Crap Mountain, was a cross-stitch, possibly my favorite of all the things I ever did, needlework-wise.

It's not that the work was so unusual; it's just cross-stitch. But I loved this pattern and it was fun to do. I wish I knew where the book is that I got it from, but that's probably too much to ask. I would, however, like to know if my childhood copy of The Adventures of Baron Munchausen is anywhere in the house. I was hoping it would turn up today, but no such luck.

Not long ago, the question came up at school: Do you still have any thing, or things, from your childhood? The SCM thought about it and then said no. The Colleague does have some stuff. I have A LOT of things from my childhood. Is that weird? Do most people not keep things all of their lives? (Okay, that even sounded weird to me, so I guess most people don't.) I know that in a box in the attic, I have a little toy flight bag -- I think it says Pan Am on it -- that my uncle bought for me (because I must have been whining my head off; he was a real cheapskate) when he and my cousin came here to visit from California and we took them to the airport to go home. So it was at Idlewild Airport, which is now JFK, in New York City. I believe I was four and a half. (The picture of me on my Profile page was taken the day they arrived.) I have some other little treasures in the bag that go way back, and it's in a box with my Beatles trading cards, among other things; the pictures of JFK (the man, not the airport) that were in Look magazine the week before he was assasinated are in there, too.

I love Sundays.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Arrested Development
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here