the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Quick Note 667

02.10.2005

10:48 pm

Before I go, all loopy-like, to bed:

We were having an odd day in town here today; last night everyone got an automated phone call from the town's emergency management system telling us to boil water for three minutes before drinking it. The news this morning is that there was a tragedy at the water treatment plant, and 17 towns are affected. Nearby, one of the other towns closed all its schools, but no such thing here. The water fountains are all covered over and there have been multiple announcement. The GSA has a Coffee House scheduled for tonight, but it looks like we're doing it sans coffee; they'll just have to have soda with their Dunkin's. (Really -- where do your put the plural S on a word that already ends in a contraction apostrophe, hmm?)


When I got home from the temporarily renamed Soda House about an hour ago, the Hubs was just hanging up from the phone call that said we didn't have to boil water anymore, It's over for us, anyway, but the real story is starting to play like a bad episode of Columbo, or maybe CSI.

Here's a quick review of tonight's event: it was the best one we've ever had. This one was much more poetry themed that they usually are; kids were browsing the library's shelves and pulling off poems and just going over and reading them. Funny to see kids doing a fun activity, but it includes seriously reading books of poetry. They did some original work, too, songs and poetry. If I'm clear headed at all tomorrow, I'll relate the amusing moment when L, who has been forcefull reminding everyone to keep it clean, keep it appropriate for school, was playing her guitar and singing, relatively new skills for her, and she missed a chord and said "Fuck!' Everybody laughed, including me and Hank and the two other adults there, who are a third teacher, young, whose just started working with the club, and Hank's partner, whom I had met once before but very briefly, and who was quite nice and very warm; I got a hug goodbye. Oh wait, that was the story. Maybe tomorrow I'll show you the pictures; I took them with the camera phone and I haven't sent them over to the computer or buzznet yet.

I liked the poetry a lot. If they'd needed a time filler, I was ready to read "This is Just to Say" by William Carlos Williams and "Captain Hook" by Shel Silverstein. I was not called upon, however.

I'm typing as if I had 15 fingers, and none of them can speak English. So it's that time. I'll just find the link I need for the water thing -- it's pretty strange, no happy ending here -- and then I'm off to bed. I was home so little today, that it took me a good hour or more to get through your diaries, and most of that in the last 35 minutes. It's a lot to take in at once. Did everyone on d-land update today and I missed the memo?

*hugs* to Yvonne today. Every kid should wake up Christmas morning and find Yvonne under their tree to be their new mom.

Good night.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching SNL
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here