the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Relativity 682

02.26.2005

7:25 pm

I'm on a weird kick today. Just a warning.

I live in Bergen County, New Jersey.



Population 884,118.

Looking at this map, along the upper right edge is New York state. Along the lower right edge is .. well, it's the Hudson River, but on the other side of that is New York City.

I live somewhere along the western edge of Bergen County. From where I am, driving in a straight line east, towards the city, it's no more than 15 miles, max. So that'll give you an idea of the physical size of where I am -- not big -- and you can guess the population density.

Why am I on this today? I think it's because R and I took a ride due east, but when we got to the river we turned south and went shopping in a little town called Edgewater. Edgewater, the most aptly named town anywhere, is just south of Fort Lee, which is where the George Washington Bridge connects New Jersey to New York, and where there was a big battle in the Revolutionary War. There's a park in Fort Lee with re-creations of the Revolutionary War battlements and fortifications and such.

It's on the edge of the water. Driving along the road, I could look down the side of the Palisades into the river, and then the road sloped down so that Edgewater is level with the river. There are many docks and little piers and such, with a lot of boats moored for the winter. This was a depressed area for a long time, and certainly was the last time I was here, maybe ten years ago? Back then, this road was lined with deserted factories and empty lots. But it's been gentrified. Now there are luxury condos everywhere, some of them with boat space included, and upscale stores. We went to the huge Whole Foods there, and it was jammed.

The view of the city, across the river, was something. This is a view of the West Side Highway, where they're talking about building a stadium to attract the 2012 Olympics, among other things. A beautiful view of New York City.

Which is what made me think: I live less than 15 minutes from a huge waterway. From the Hudson River, it's a stone's throw, more or less, to the ocean. I live near the ocean.

Yes, I'm goofy. I've lived in Bergen County for 50 years. I never go to the ocean, or to the city for that matter, but I've always said that I like living where I know they're both nearby. I don't know why. But today, when I saw the city and the river, I thought, yes, I like this. I like them being there. I can see this stuff if I want to. I think that somehow I would feel claustrophobic living in the center of the country somewhere.

Which leads me to relativity. Maybe someone is reading this now and thinking "Oh, it's a river, big deal. I can look out my window and see amazing mountains." Or maybe plains, with which I have no personal experience myself. Or desert. Some people are thinking "I couldn't live on less than xx acres" or "How can you live so close to so many people?" or "Hell, my ranch in Texas is bigger than your freakin' county!" or "Hey, I can drive through the whole state of Delaware in twenty minutes!"

What's relative? That each one of us lives in relation to our surroundings and environment. That we all relate somehow to where we live, good or bad, and chose (or didn't) to live where we live. That there is so much diversity in this country and this world, not just in terms of the people we run into every day -- that's an Edgewater story for another day -- but in the physical places we live.

I was intrigued, c'est ca. I got all excited when I saw the water, so close. I mean, man, I was right there, y'know? At the edge.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here