the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Giving It a Try 683

02.27.2005

4:21 pm

It's from here, via fortyplus.

  1. You�ve got a friend:: James Taylor
  2. Immigration:: Grandpa Sam
  3. Waitress:: Mindy
  4. Snickers:: Big Crunchy Nuts!
  5. Recognize:: See
  6. Concept:: Idea
  7. Birthday:: Yay!
  8. Told you so:: Eyes rolling
  9. Unlikely:: So much
  10. Extension:: cord
Very near the end of my pregnancy with R, so that's just about 24 years ago, I went to do a market research thing with the Sibs. They were testing new commercials for candy bars; there must have been 50, or maybe more, people in this parochial school gymnasium. Now, I am revolted -- revolted! -- by the thought of eating almost anything with chunks in it; the classic example of this is brownies with walnuts. EEUUW! One of my nephews is the same way; it's just the way we were wired at birth. But the Snickers people, so it would seem, are extremely proud of the fact that theirs is a candy bar with BIG CRUNCHY NUTS! This phrase was repeated about twelve times in the commercial, which we had to view endlessly over the course of an hour and half to get our cash. And you know how pregnancy just magnifies that kind of thing, where some kind of food bothers you. I never would have eaten a Snickers bar before, but now every time I see one, or a commercial for one, all I can hear replaying in my head is BIG CRUNCHY NUTS! BIG CRUNCHY NUTS! and I want to barf.

Mindy was someone I went to school with from third grade through college; we even student taught in adjoining rooms. She was my best friend in college, and is unfortunately now not so easy to reach, although I've tried. She worked as a waitress all through high school and college. Consequently, I always see her in every waitress everywhere, and always leave big tips and am as polite as I can possibly be to them. It's a sucky job.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Oscars pre-show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here