the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

My Pace Has Slowed 685

03.01.2005

6:10 pm

Once again, I'm home all day, and although I've been reading diaries on and off, pretty much the whole time, only now do I think, duh, did I write mine yet? Not that I have anything earth shaking to say. Although I did shovel some snow this morning. Even though the last thing the Hubs said as he walked out the door this morning was "Don't shovel!" Now, he NEVER tells me what to do; even to suggest behavior to someone else goes against his creed. (Which is an odd parenting technique, but I digress.) Only snow shoveling, probably because he figures he'd rather shovel than listen to me complain about my back for a week. Or more likely, he doesn't want me to actually have the back pain. But he shoveled before he left this morning -- he left at 6 -- and by the time he was done, the parts he'd done first were covered with two inches already. Once the snow stopped, I figured I could get those last two inches fast, which I did, and then the sun came out so the dregs melted. And my back is fine. Go, me.

Uh, I had a snow day today. I got the call at 5:15 this morning, which is when the Chum got hers, too. Every other school district had at least declared a delayed opening as of last night, but noooooo, not us. If I got called at 5:15, then there were people called before 5, and plenty who got called at 6, by which time some of them would have been on the road already. It's a bad system, our phone chain. And of course, the news wasn't posted on the website til 5:20, because I'm the one who posts it. (I had a delayed opening page all ready to upload, but I was blind-sided by the actual whole day off, so I had to re-write that part of the page.) If I got called first, I'd post it right away, but I guess nobody's thought of that. Of course, they could call us the night before so we wouldn't have to get up early at all, but that's asking for the moon.

I didn't eat any crap or too many snacks yesterday, and I was so proud of me that I've been working on that today, too. It's harder when you're home and you've got food at hand, though, isn't it?

Once I got the little bit of shoveling done, I went out to the post office to mail the invitations to my Wonderful Niece's bridal shower, which is a month from tomorrow. Have I mentioned this before? One of the favors is a cookbook; we're asking everybody in the invitation to send my a family or favorite recipe, and I can print them and bind them into little booklets at school. So I'll be waiting to see how that works out. I'm also looking for another favor or two, but I think I'll have to go to a party store for that. Maybe tomorrow after school. Oooh, it's near the giant bookstore, so I can drop in on R at work and get a nice soy latte.

Now for a major digression that doesn't connect to anything (which I guess is the point of a digression), who's old enought to remember this?

The new TV season started each year in late September. Each program showed a BRAND NEW EPISODE every week for 26 weeks (although sometimes not on Christmas) and then they showed reruns for what amounted to the "summer", although it was really for the roughly six months before the next new season began. Each episode of each show was shown exactly twice, once when it was originally broadcast and once during the summer rerun period. And if the show was "live", like a variety show, then most likely it had a longer season and there were never reruns, because a summer "replacement" variety show would be on instead. The Smothers Brothers show started as a summer replacement series, but caught on and became a regular. I think the Sonny and Cher show did, too. But I remember other variety shows like George Gobel and Garry Moore not being on in the summer.

But now ... Who can tell when a series is on or cancelled or on hiatus? They show new episodes for two weeks, and then they rerun the reruns that we've already seen twice, even though the season's only a few months old. Why do we stand for this, anyway? Just asking.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here