the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Revelation 686

03.02.2005

6:40 pm

I have always maintained that my lack of house cleaning wasn't especially related to my working full time outside the home because I wouldn't have been doing it anyway, even if I stayed home full time. This may still be true, but I have had a revelation since the following factors have come into play:
  1. The house is generally less hectic since the kids are grown.
  2. Due to the above, I've had the opportunity to get the house more the way I'd always wanted it to be, living room last summer, kitchen last week, so
  3. Consequently, my house now contains more rooms and/or items that I have a vested interest in and so I want to keep them nice.
My revelation is that if I want to keep everything nice, it will require full scale, full time vigilance and ... dare I say it ... work. Housework. I still don't want to do any housework, but I do want the nice new stuff to stay nice. Even .. okay, what got me just now is the stove. My stove is only about ten years old, but since we don't cook all that much either (okay, some) it's still in pretty good shape. Except the burners, which I can't seem to keep clean. But I worked on them a lot last week when I was off, and ever since, I'm noticing that I must be living with the visually impaired because, come on! Am I literally the only one who can see the grease that spatters from whatever they're cooking? Am I the only one capable of wiping it off? I must be, because I'm the one who's doing it all day.

When I get up in the morning, I sweep the floor and then I wet-jet it. My floor is so pretty.

I seem to be polishing the stainless steel sink every day. No water spots for me. Every time I wash a dish, I look down and I think "Wow, this cool looking sink is in my house!" And yes, I also think "And it's not avocado!"

When I would always see people who devoted a great deal of time to cleaning, I would think, "Okay, just not me." (My sister's expression, in such a situation, would be "But I have other fine qualities.") Nothing wrong with housework or cleaning, it was just, I figured, a DNA strand that I was born without. Turns out all I needed was the proper motivation.

I haven't determined yet if this is a good thing. Time, and visually impaired living companions, will tell.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here