the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Springing Forward 689

03.06.2005

5:26 pm

Take the Commonly Confused Words Test here. Interesting. It says I'm an English Genius. And I am.

Unconscious Mutterings
  1. Usher:: Radio City Music Hall
  2. Cherish:: The Association
  3. Mistreat:: Dickens
  4. Forum:: Ancient Greece
  5. Systematic:: Orderly
  6. Warning:: Danger, Will Robinson!
  7. Wash:: Dry
  8. I wish:: I could
  9. Candles:: Fire
  10. Metallic:: Taste
life-my-way reports that it's early spring in Alabama and her sinuses keep reminding her. I send her my sympathies, along with the uneasy realization that within the next month, early spring will hit New Jersey and I too will find it hard to ignore. For now, there's still snow all over, and there's the possibility of a storm by Friday, although Tuesday's predicted snow is looking more like rain now. My worst allergy season of the year hands down is when those adorable little buds start to come out on the trees. My sinuses will pound for a couple of weeks regardless of decongestants, pain relievers, or antihistamines. My father had the same thing. But I can't wait to hang up the coats for good and go out unencumbered. I have very mixed feelings when it comes to spring.

In fact, I finally put two and two together and realized why I don't walk during the winter, even in the school hallways in the morning. It's because I have to dress for the cold outside and the cold inside the library all day, and so I'm dressed too heavily to walk for exercise. With any luck, that should ease up in the next few weeks, too, and I'll be back to walking, which I miss. I did do my exercise routine this morning, and I have a very nice yoga DVD that R lent me that looks like I can do it. I'm setting the alarm for 5:30 tomorrow so I can fit it in. I can dream, can't I?

In other news, I've decided to eat my weight in soy every day. What could it hurt?

Okay, time to post this and brew tomorrow's iced tea. When I think about it, it's amazing how much my diet and lifestyle have improved in the last year, even if I put a few pounds back on. No caffeine. No sugar. Low sodium. Lots of soy. Lots of fiber. Smaller portions. No daily Twinkies. Even sporadic exercise. Huh.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Pirates of the Caribbean
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here