the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Where Has the Day Gone? 690

03.07.2005

8:46 pm

It's 8:15, which is way late for me to write. What on earth have I been doing? K and I did go here and there after school, including to the giant Store for a soy latte (me) and an iced tea (her) which we enjoyed with R on her dinner break. The thing was, I wasn't sure what her hours were today, and I didn't want to have dinner with K and then have R walk in, hungry, and since we can't call her while she's working, it was easier to drop in and ask. Turns out we happened to be there at her break time, which was about 4:00, so she'll be walking in the door any minute now.

I've been reluctant to get on the scale for the last week or so because I'm sure I've gained more, even though my clothes still fit and my face looks the same. I really haven't been eating badly, but I have switched to soy milk, so I figured that was higher in fat. Turns out the calories are the same as 2% milk, but there's less fat in the soy. Huh. And I have been very pleased with the soy; I think it has improved some of those pesky ... symptoms.

And indeed I have now exercised for two days running, which is certainly not my all-time record, but is my record for this winter. I did my little wussy work-out yesterday and my first succesful try at home-yoga today, and then I got to work early and walked. It was such an incredibly beautiful day, weather-wise, and the library turned out to be extra hot instead of cold and somehow I managed to wear just the right clothes, jeans (of course), a t-shirt, and a cardigan. So I was in optimum layering mode, which made the walking good and even the workday manageable.

The Sibs seems to have gotten a dress for her daughter's wedding, which means it's time for me to start looking. Oh how I hate to dress up. She says she saw some excellent dressy slacks outfits while she was shopping, which sounds perfect to me. Dresses mean heels, and I do not do heels. Perhaps I should do that this Saturday. Oh wait, I'm having a colonoscopy on Saturday. Here's a toss-up: which would I rather do, go shopping for formal clothes or have a colonoscopy? Hmm, tough choice.

(Here's a digression or two: That excellent line from Taxi where the Reverend Jim is going for his driver's test and one of the questions is "Drug use or mental illness?" and he's supposed to write "None" but instead he says "Ah, that's a tough choice." Also, there was that book a few years ago called The Book of Questions that asked all sorts of zen-y philosophical questions, but my kids had the parody, The Book of Stupid Questions which were all ridiculous, and the only one I can remember now is "Would you prefer to slide down a 100 foot razor or have a Drano enema?" Once again, the answer is "Tough choice. Over now.)

I read an intriguing book over the weekend (which I am purposely mis-spelling due to rampant paranoia) called The Curious Insident of the Dog in the Night. It's a first person narrative -- fictional -- by an autistic boy, British. I understand it was a book club selection for the Today show or something, but I must have ordered it for the library from actual reviews. An interesting read.

On Thursday, among other things at work, I need to go talk to the moron architects and explain why we need a sink in the new library. They didn't put one in the plans, and when I mentioned it before, they looked at my like I had three heads. I've never seen a library without a sink. I washed my hands about six times this morning before lunch, and this wasn't a Lady Macbeth thing; I was working with the books and stuff and they are filthy. Even though someone actuall does dust them, which no one ever did before this woman joined the custodial staff, but books just get icky inside and out when they're old. I'm sure I handled a few today that were in the original collection, when the school opened in 1943, or from soon thereafter. Not that they haven't been touched or moved since then, but still. Dirty dirty books.

And now I'm not even making sense anymore. R is home, has had dinner, and is going to bed. It's 8:45, and I'm still typing. Where, indeed, has the day gone?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Degrassi
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here