the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Feel All Stepped On 694

03.13.2005

1:51 pm

So it seems I am not one of the folk who just "bounce back" from a colonoscopy. Although I think it was the anesthesia more than the actual procedure. Did I mention that when I woke up, clear as a bell, I had the odd sensation that I had been speaking thoughout the whole thing although I had no sense of pain or discomfort at all? I asked the doctor when he came by and he -- a very sweet, gentle man -- said, "Well.... let's remember next time to give you different anesthesia." Okay, good plan. I still feel like I've been stepped on and wiped off somebody's shoe. I did go to the supermarket with R this morning, which I really needed to do because if I'm going to eat better I've got to get the food first, but I really cannot make the drive to take K to the train later. She was dissapointed when I told her, since we enjoy the time together, but I'm not up to driving back by myself, even with Harry Potter for company.

But surprise of surprises, the Hubs offered to take her himself. And here I am, already weak! Let me see, the number of times he has driven our kids places by himself in the last 24 years .... I dunno, six? Seven? Okay, maybe 15. For all kinds of reasons, I suppose, one of them being my need to do things myself. Even so. His driving her today is a good thing. For all kinds of reasons.

It's a beautiful day today, and it looks like nice weather all week, in the 40s. If I feel up to it tomorrow, I'm going to attempt a nice walk around the neighborhood when I get home from school tomorrow, after the faculty meeting. R will be working late, I'm making tomorrow's dinner now (beef stew from the WW site, in the crock pot), and it should be the warmest part of the day. I'll let you know. With luck, I'll have the willpower to do it, and not just stop someplace for cat litter, and at the bank, and then come home and collapse.

But for today I'm really not thinking all that clearly. I suppose the sinuses acting up aren't helping either, but at least it's the first true sign of spring.

I think I'll take a nap.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here