the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Don't Even Know Why I'm Writing This 699

03.19.2005

7:17 pm

Because d-land seems to be down, but if anyone out there is reading, then I guess it went back up and I posted after all. It's all the magic of the Internet, folks.

I have eleventy gabillion things to do tomorrow (heh), including the dreaded shopping for formal wear. Oh ick. I thought I was done with this when I gave up running the junior prom a few years ago -- really, I'll have to post a prom picture or two, they're a hoot -- but the Sibs tells me that one of the fancy shmancy department stores has a whole wall of dressy slacks outfits, and that's where I want to go. I am not a wearer of skirts, and less of dresses. I would wear jeans to my niece's wedding if I thought I could get away with it. I am also dreading the possibility that she's going to have all sorts of folk troop down the aisle, including Hubs et Moi. I do not know why, although she loves us, so that's very sweet, but I could pass. I know my sister would like to pass, but I bet she's not getting the option. I'm guessing that all weddings don't include the immediate world walking down the aisle; I think it's rooted in a Jewish custom. The funny thing is that Niece doesn't want anyone specifically walking with her or giving her away, I'm assuming since my father is no longer available, since she always said she wanted him to walk her.

I got more recipes today, presumably emailed by illiterates who somehow manage to operate computers. Deadlines, people, deadlines!

It was a beautiful day today, maybe a solid 45 degrees, or even higher, and I decided that I just couldn't wear a jacket anymore. Can't stand always feeling so bulky. And lately I haven't been carrying a purse/pocketbook/handbag (pick one according to your regional variation) at all because I can't stand working the strap up over my jacket, and having it fall down and get in the way and don't you just HATE that? So I put on a hoodie sweatshirt over my favorite uniform of all time -- jeans, solid t-shirt, open denim workshirt over that -- and toddled off to school. Truly, there is no dress code for teachers here, and as long as none of us are showing as much skin as the kids are (or underwear), I guess we're okay. And I packed my posessions back into my favorite bag and it went right up over my shoulder just like summertime. Made me so happy.

I just finished Nothing But the Truth by Avi and liked it very much. On to the Traveling Pants.

So am I posting, or what? I swear, I'll post this same entry Saturday morning with nary an edit. Or now, if I can. Let's see ...

6:43
.
7:03
.
7:25
.
Can't find the goofiest prom picture. I'll find it one of these days and scan it in.
.
7:47
.
8:04 I miss you all! And yet I have no life.
.
8:58 The servers are down (duh). Let's see what the morning brings.
.
6:49
.
8:51
.
10:50 I just bought two of the same dressy oufit, one purple, one green. My sister can pick the color she likes and I'll return the other one.
.
12:34 I'm keeping the green. The purple -- my tattoo color, btw -- is the same color and fabric as the bridesmaids dresses, and I don't want it to look like R and K and I are wearing mother/daughter outfits. Man, I hated those when I was a kid.
.
2:11 R and I just went on the most excellent shopping spree and got shower gifts for the Niece. I missed the boat on her bridal registry; by the time I got serious, everything was gone except china pieces, which didn't interest me, so we just got her all kinds of cool stuff, no list. A set of sushi dishes, an espresso pot and cups, and other stuff. Much shopping fun was had by all. And now I'm going for a walk. I really am this time.
.
3:24 I walked. I stretched. I even worked with the little weights a bit. Hear me roar.
.
4:41
.
6:16 Aw, come on. It's like the voices in my head have stopped.
.
7:15 You're back! At least it looks like you're back. Let me see ... My buddy list, my beloved buddy list! I'm going to upload this now so I can finally stop it and then delight in reading you all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here