the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

That's a Lot of Entries 700

03.20.2005

10:30 am

from here:

  1. Stink:: Weed
  2. Renewal:: Book
  3. I remember...:: Mama
  4. Loneliness:: Long Distance Runner
  5. Ooooh:: Homer drool
  6. For real:: 70s
  7. Titanium:: glasses
  8. Get down:: tonight
  9. Rupture:: spleen
  10. Dramatic:: license

I don't know how many of these should even be explained, but the ruptured spleen comes from a song that made the rounds in the late 60s called The Draft Dodger Rag, by Phil Ochs, the chorus of which goes:

I'm only eighteen, I got a ruptured spleen
And I always carry a purse
I got eyes like a bat, and my feet are flat, and my asthma's getting worse
Yes, think of my career, my sweetheart dear, and my poor old invalid aunt
Besides, I ain't no fool, I'm a-goin' to school
And I'm working in a DEE-fense plant


So now that the d-land foolishness is over, and I'm not complaining about Andrew or anything because these things happen, I'm moving on with my life. My burst of wedding shower related activity is over for the weekend, Although I am going to take a look at the restaurant where it is today, but just because we're going to a store right near it anyway. I have yet to order the balloon arch, but I think I'd need to know first if there's a high ceiling or not.

I had an ultimate W8 Watching day yesterday; I ate a TON of food but all of it was high fiber low calorie, so hardly any points. This is, for me, a big day; my life is that exciting. And I did all that exercise, too. (Well, it was a lot for me.) I just made some bran muffins (they smell really good, just came out of the oven) but I have no idea how they'll taste; I just found and modified the recipe this morning. I used soy milk instead of milk, babyfood bananas instead of oil, and All Bran Extra Fiber, so you can just imagine.

My bills are paid, my desk is neat, my laundry is all done and put away. R just got up; when she's eaten and dressed we're going to take the big trip back to the huge Whole Foods in Edgewater, there to purchase mass amounts of health-filled goodies. I think she's planning on making something special for Easter at the ILs next week, since last year she made one of the most traditional of all family Easter foods while she was off on her own in Wales, and she'd like to show her grandfather that she can do it. He was absolutely tickled last year when she told him about it over the phone. (It's Italian Easter Pie. I have no idea how to spell the way the FIL says it in Italian; I think it's a regional dialect of some kind.)

I'm going to go have me a muffin now. I'll review it tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here