the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Muffin Review 701

03.21.2005

6:31 pm

It was good. A little dry, perhaps, but I had it with coffee, it was fine. I'll make them a little moister next time.

I just dropped off my car for an oil change and general service. It's got 97,500 miles on it. I hope they don't wipe off whatever it is that's holding it together. I need two more years out of the little shoebox. Maybe three.

I had a brief conversation with the Psycho after a meeting today, and she was in benevolent mode and took my hand and patted it. Unclean, unclean! I had visions of that scene at the end of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone where Harry touches Quirrel, who's inhabited by Voldemort, and Quirrell's flesh dries up and breaks away, unable to bear the touch of good on evil. But this would have been the other way around. I wasn't so much interested in my flesh drying up and breaking away, but really, I wouldn't have been surprised.

I'm about to reach a point with my Blockbuster online queue where nothing I want is available and everything is either a "short wait" or, more likely, a "very long wait." Then what? Just wondering. I've got here in front of me Shiloh, which is for that course I'm taking, Alfie, which is another whole story, and The Twentieth Century, which I think stars a couple of Barrymores. I remember going to the movies to see the original Alfie, my mother dropped me off, but they wouldn't let me in (along with the friend I was with) because they said we weren't old enough. But my mother dropped me off! She saw the movie last week and says I'll like it! They bought none of these arguments, although true, and we had to walk home. I've never been able to bring myself to watch it since. But that Michael Caine, helluvan actor, huh?

So yesterday at the Whole Foods I bought a salmon sausage with spinach and feta. Doesn't that sound intriguing? I'm going to grill it in a few minutes, when R gets home. I'll bet I've never cooked a sausage, except breakfast sausage, in my life. Why I bought this I have no idea, although the combination of ingredients piqued my interest, I guess. I'll let you know.

Didja notice how when I'm back on the W8 Watching I'm all about the food? Sorry, it must be obnoxious to read about such things.

Okay, kid's home. Let the sausage begin.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here