the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Furthermore ... 709

03.28.2005

4:29 pm

It wasn't even that I ate too much yesterday. I ate very small portions, and mostly tried to pick from things that were reasonable things to eat. About a tablespoon of scrambled eggs, one piece of ham. It wasn't that I ate a lot, just that everything there was had butter or cheese on it and was not low-fat or especially health-conscious. There's not much you can do when you're eating at someone else's house. Have I ever mentioned that the FIL tips the scale at 350 or so? And this is why. There is no sense of cooking in a healthy way, just in a good-tasting way. I would think that one could do both, but I also wouldn't expect the MIL to change everything now, nearing 80. It's amazing that she's still putting out these spreads, when clearly it hurts her to walk but she still has to be the one to pour everyone's coffee and jump up to get anything missing from the table.

The girls were supposed to go into the city last night after we got back to see a show, but they missed their bus. Not a Broadway show, an inexpensive comedy thing, so not a big deal. What it meant for me was no exercising for the second day in a row, because I'm not so eager to turn it into performance art, and they hang out in the family room, which is MY SPACE, MAN and so I feel goofy lifting my dinky little weights and stuff for an audience. Okay, maybe there's almost enough room in the bedroom. I'll try.

I know I've mentioned my renewed interest in the city recently, and especially in going to the theatre. I don't know if I've said that I went to the theatre quite often when I was a kid; once or twice a year with my parents from the age of 8 on, and every other month or so with friends when I was in high school, and occasionally after that. I saw some amazing things on stage. One of the most memorable was a revival of Harvey, which I saw with James Stewart, Helen Hayes, Jesse White and Mary Wickes. (I got standing room tickets, which probably cost $5 each.) I was also stunned by A Moon For the Misbegotten, with Jason Robards and Colleen Dewhurst, which I've since managed to get on DVD. And yet I believe I've only taken my children to the theatre twice in their lives, once to see Tommy and once to see Beauty and the Beast. As we know, I have getting to/being in the city issues.

They asked me if I thought we might go see Spamalot, the Monty Python-based musical that just opened to great reviews. And so, after we got back from the Easter jaunt yesterday, I went online and did it. Ordered tickets. TO SEE A SHOW ON BROADWAY!! YAAAAAY!

These are no $5 tickets, I can tell you that, and there wasn't anything available til August, so let's just hope that the original cast is still there. And I want to go see La Cage Aux Folles, too; I totally loved that show when I saw the original (just over 20 years ago, I think. I went with the MIL.)

I'm getting very excited. I'm thinking that once R shows me the bus route and all then I can do it myself. It's like I'm growing up at last.


So I was home today and got K to the train amidst the downpour and then picked up my replacement Magic Hearing Aid. So far, I turned it on and it worked, which is already an improvement over the old one. Time will tell, however.

Also in my travels I went to the giant bookstore because R had left her lunch home and I brought it to her, and while I was there I reserved a copy of the new Harry Potter book. I want it the day it comes out, dammit! And this time, Amazon is making no guarantees that pre-ordered copies will be delivered on that day. So I guess I'll go wait on line at the store; it'll take a while, I'm pretty sure, but at least I'll have it when I want it. (So I'll be spending my anniversary -- this will be year 28 -- reading Harry. No big deal.)

Okay, now that K's back in DC and R isn't home from work yet, I'm going to do my goofy ankle weight thing.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here