the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

All Right, All Right 739

04.27.2005

6:33 pm

I've had a strange day.

I feel like I wasted a whole vacation day, even though I did get a decent amount of cleaning done and I got two cavities filled. I spent most -- okay, all -- of the rest of the day working on K's formerly defunct computer, which is now funct. I replaced the CD drive; the new one sounds like they're revving up at LeMans, which can't be good, but since the old one really didn't work at all, it's an improvement. It's reformatted, programs are reinstalled. I got it all set up to be a spare computer for me: I put my favorites on it, logged in to all my regular websites and so on. I figure I'll be in a hotel a few nights over the next month or so -- more on that -- and I can take it with me. And I need it in school next week for GSA movie night; I loaded the film clips on it that I need and updated Windows Media.

Then the Hubs said on the phone that he may co-opt it after I'm done traveling, since he can use it in the office.

:(

(I wish I could make that bigger.)

But it's not as if I really need it, so why can't he have it? I guess I'm just bummed that I worked on it all day and I won't even get to play with it for very long.

I uploaded my final project for my online class last night, and just a little while ago I checked and a grade was already posted for it. And let me say that it's not a grade I am happy with. It's one of only two projects turned in so far (we all have to read each others') that's even grammatically correct and properly spelled, but besides that, I'm sorry, it was a good paper. This better be a mistake of some kind, since the difference between an A and a B in this class means about $300 for me in how much I'm getting reimbursed. So I'm pissed off about that, too.

One of the tasks I did not do today was make the hotel reservations for Wonderful Niece's wedding. I need to book two rooms for two nights, although we may not stay over the night before the wedding, too. The Hubs will not stay over anyway; he needs to get to work in the morning, but I'll take that day off. R and K will be in one room and I'll be in another. In case I can't sleep, it would be nice to have a computer with me, but I don't even know if the hotel will have an Internet connection; it's not exactly a business-traveler kind of place.

Tomorrow I need to start getting stuff ready for my little luncheon extravaganza on Friday. And I just found out that I need to get different shoes to wear to the wedding, so it would be good if I could fit that in, too.

Bleah. Lost better be good tonight.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here