the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Times Two 744

05.01.2005

4:00 pm

This is my second entry today; the first one, which is a long meme (you've been warned, but it's a fun one) is here.

I was going to report my success in finding dyable shoes yesterday, but it turned into a very long story in my head, and is actually connected to the Peter Pan thing I was going to write all week but never did. In fact, I didn't write the Peter Pan thing because it requires a photograph of someone I dearly loved as a child but which I couldn't find among my scanned photographs.

So last night I went into the cabinet where I keep pictures and started going through it. Needless to say, it turned into its own project. Keep in mind that I am also working on a couple of scrapbook-y things for Wonderful Niece for her wedding, so I was looking for more pictures for that, too.

I had boxes and boxes of pictures, most of them not sorted in any way, and even a full shopping bag stuffed in there. I thought I'd get it in some order, throw out some stuff, and find the pictures I was looking for. Instead, I changed my outlook on the whole photograph thing.

When I took pictures on film and had them printed, I kept them. All of them. So last night I got rid of stuff I found in envelopes that were duplicates, or out of focus, or out of frame. What did I need them for? I had all the "proofs" I'd taken of the girls for every Christmas picture every year. Why? And I had negatives. Lots and lots of negatives.

I had to think long and hard on this one. Why would I need these negatives, what would I ever do with them?

Out they went.

I have two giant shopping bags filled with pictures I have no need for and which are going out with the trash tomorrow. I have a nice shoebox completely filled with nicely filed pictures I have yet to go through and scan in. I have one box that's just pictures of R, one box just of K, and one box with pictures just of the two of them together. I found some beauties of the Niece and her brothers when they were little. I found this prize of my parents:



It makes me laugh every time I look at it. I can just hear him groaning "Ohhh, you're not taking another picture!"

I did not find the picture I was really looking for, which means I have no pictures of this person. I cannot believe this, because our families were inseparable when we were children and he was like my big brother. I looked in the home movies to see if I could capture a picture of him from there, but the only thing I found was him under water. Nothing that shows how adorable and special he was, my Peter Pan. I'm sad that I don't have a picture of him, but I'll check in Shirl's box of pictures; it's either at the Sibs' house or with Wonderful Niece. There's got to be a picture of Philip in there.

When I find it, I'll write it. Or maybe before.

Until then, here's another picture I promised long ago, although I have no idea in what context. Briefly, I was the advisor to the junior class at the high school for 15 years, so that meant 15 proms, and at (almost) each one, a prom picture for me and the Hubs. These are a whole entity unto themselves, along with the background and such, but I'll share one with you, the first one, because truly, these people look nothing like the two people who are living in this house now. This was at the junior prom for the class ofr 1988, so this was in April, 1987, 18 years ago. (I was able to put the pictures in chronological order by the black/gray/white ratio in the Hubs' hair, which has been snowy white now for quite a few years, along with his beard, which he didn't even have in 87. This was pre-brain tumor, pre-need for W8 Watchers, and, obviously, when I was still willing to put on a pair of heels.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Starsky and Hutch (still)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here