the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hi 746

05.04.2005

3:27 pm

(By the way, I'm using a different email address here. See the link at the top of the page.)

It's diverticulitis.

I've had this before, at least three times, but this is the worst attack ever. I was out of work today and I think I'll be home tomorrow, too. No point in going back unless I know I won't be all feverish and running to the bathroom. I start taking antiobiotics at 5, so I should be fine by tomorrow afternoon, I think. And then my short personal nightmare will be over.

I spent the day today doing the hot/cold thing and being in pain and going to the doctor. Then I stopped at the deli and got good chicken soup and then at CVS for english muffins. Isn't this exciting?

The battery I ordered for K's old computer -- henceforth to be known as Boo's computer, since when I had to enter a username for the network, I used the cat's name, since the people are all on the network already -- and it's just about charged. Yay! An actual portable laptop! (And in the meantime, if anyone knows how to disable the touchpad on one of these D Hell computers, I'd appreciate getting the word.

My GSA co-advisor cancelled Movie Night for tonight, since I was the one who knew how to setup the equipment. Bummer. I could probably have gone in at 5 and set it up -- or maybe not, I do feel like shit -- and now what am I going to do with the $20 worth of popcorn in my car?

They were boarding up windows and sealing off doors on one side of the school building today in preparation for the construction which is to begin on Friday. That must have been some scene.

I'm cold again. Time to burrow under the covers with a cat on my feet. (Not the cat under the covers.) Now where's a cat when you need one?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here