the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Still Here 747

05.05.2005

12:10 pm

I'm not back at work yet, and tomorrow is not looking good either. I'm better, but only in the sense that I'm better than I was, not all better. The fever is very low today, so the hot/cold thing has not been much of a problem. But I still have a fair amount of pain and I have to eat small meals of bland food all day long, which would be hard to do at school.

Not to mention hard to do on Saturday, when the Hubs and I are supposed to go down and see the ILs and a whole bunch of family. The drive is an hour and a half, which would be agony, and then I can't eat anything when I get there. I happen to love the family folk that will be there, so I'm not even trying to get out of this one. But I don't see how I can go.

I was finally clear-headed enough to call the IRS this morning about a letter they sent correcting our tax return. I so dreaded doing this, but the accountant for some reason passed the ball back to me, which pissed me off as it is his job, but as long as I was home and could think straight, I figured I'd call. Well, let me tell you, D-E-double hockey sticks should take customer service lessons from the IRS. There was no wait time at all -- can you believe it? -- and a lovely woman who spoke clearly and well listened to what I said and helped me figure out the problem, and very fast, too. I was most impressed, even though I was terrified at the thought of having any personal contact with the IRS at all.

The weather has been beautiful, which I only know first-hand because I went out to the doctor's yesterday and to the ShopRite this morning to pick up a box of Cream of Rice cereal. I don't think I can bring myself to drink anymore flat ginger ale. It's icky.

BTW, I got my final grade for the class -- which means it's over, thank god -- and I did get the A. The final paper got a grade of B+ along with a suggestion that I present it at a conference. This is a professor with screws that are seriously loose.

(Oh, no! Full House is on -- again! -- and they just played that Raffi song, Baby Beluga. There is no song that gets as obnoxiously stuck in my head as Baby Beluga. It will be with me for weeks!)

Okay, I'm going to make some toast and see if I can gather up enough attention span to watch a movie. I have the Ian McKellen/Judi Dench Macbeth, but that may be a bit too ambitious for today, I fear. It's more like an Overboard sort of day.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Full House
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here