the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Still Lagging Behind 759

05.18.2005

6:59 pm

I can't catch up, but it's not like I'm worried or even bummed; I'm just slow. How can that wedding be less than three weeks away? K and I dashed after school today to get the shoes dyed, which was another whole issue; we took ours to one place (where we bought them) but they wouldn't do R's; I think it was because we didn't buy them there although the owner had told me she would do them anyway. But she wasn't there today, her husband was, and he said no. So then we had to drag back to David's Bridal (where we got R's shoes and the bridesmaids' dresses), but it was another stop to make. We went to get K her new cell phone and it was all set up but then they were out of that phone. So we'll have to go back there Friday or Saturday. It never ends!

I put a button for my school construction blog, Sin~e Libelli~bus, at the bottom of this page, for anyone who might want to take a look. I disabled comments over there since work people will be seeing it, too, but if you have any and want to leave them here, go. I'm just saying.

I've made an official comparison today between the iced lattes at Dunkin and the ones at the Giant Bookstore Cafe, and the Bookstore latte is definitely superior. (I'm all about the decaf iced lattes this week.) Although I did get some extra syrup or something in the bookstore latte since my own kid made it for me, but even so.

Tomorrow night is the senior prom at school, and the best thing about that is that I don't have to go. I hate those dress-up parties, but it used to be part of my job to go, and this was before I was half-deaf and just had to smile and nod because I couldn't hear what was going on. But the school will be very very quiet tomorrow afternoon, with all the seniors out early getting ready and a lot of the underclassmen out, too. And Friday is an in-service day; we'll see just how much I can get done. I only have to attend one workshop (it's on webquests) and then we start work in earnest on the library without books. Not the blog, the library. Making plans, I mean.

I may tape Lost tonight in two rooms. Once burned, twice shy.


Oh, a word about my weight.

I absolutely know that I am not fat. When I first started the W8 Watching, which was March, 2004, I weighed about 10 pounds more than I do now, and I lost that and 10 more. I felt very good at that -20 pounds, and I did not feel good when I was at my top weight. Losing the weight gave me more energy, helped with the sleep apnea, and in general made me feel better about myself. Between December and March this year, I had gained back 5, so I was still down -15, and I was okay there, too, but I thought if I could lose those 5, so much the better. I haven't been as succesful this time. What freaked me out is that I've gained 5 pounds in the last three weeks, starting when I got sick with the diverticulitis. So now I've gained back 10 of the 20 I lost, and I think it's odd that anyone could gain 5 pounds when you're running to the bathroom every other minute.

So it's just something I want to deal with, but not so much until after the wedding. I'm not having cupcakes anymore (for which I thank Mary and her encouragement) and I'm eating relatively better; I just won't start counting points again for a few weeks. I know if I can lose just the 5 again, I'll feel better and not so bloated. And I'll be damned if I have to buy bigger jeans again. Been there, not going back. I'm already back in the medium size, and that's as far as I want to go.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here