the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Incremental Entry 777

06.04.2005

11:17 pm

Yes, I know I thought I wouldn't be updating. Yes, I know it's my second entry today. Things happen.

We got to the hotel around 7:30, and none of our family members were to be found. The girls and I hung out in our rooms, kept calling them, looked around, and at 8:30, R suggested we check out the restaurant at the other end of the hotel parking lot. They were all there, including the cousins from Florida and Colorado. It seems that the desk clerk forgot to give us the message that they left for us telling us that they would be there.

So we chilled with all of them for a bit and then came back to the hotel. I was with the Sibs in her room for a bit and then stopped for a moment in one of the kids' (not my kids) rooms. That's where the party is.

Let me put this diplomatically. I have two cousins, one 54 and one 50, who know how to party. It's a rite of passage for the next generation to party with them. So all of them, niece, nieces-to-be, nephews, and of course, mine, are in there. I was actually invited to stay, but I passed. There are certain things that grown kids should get to do without their mother there. I have no need to see my children, how shall we say, influenced. (Hey, they're both over 21.) Anyway, I gave that stuff up in my own twenties.

I just took my bedtime meds and realized that oops, forgot the ambien at home. Don't suppose I can get that from the front desk. Maybe I should have stayed with the kids for a while after all.

I've got my alarm set; I'm on call to wake up the Sibs at 8:00. Hope I sleep some.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here