the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Can't Believe I Wrote the Whole Thing 778

06.06.2005

12:46 am

So it was a 100% beautiful and perfect wedding,which is what these two people deserved. There were one or two minorly discordant notes, but I'll save that for tomorrow or the next day, when my pictures have been suffiently worked on to post. But there are no complaints. It was great.

I did not sleep last night; I dozed from time to time (which I know because I recall snippets of dreams) but I was never truly asleep (which I know because I was aware all night of the cold or heat, how my hands were lyng on the covers or under, and so on. But the Hubs brought my meds when he came for the wedding, and I'm already leaning towards groggy-land.

Before I go, another note on something I touched on last night. Now, our extended family is fairly small, what with the old ones dying off and the young ones living far away (and the line blurring between the old and the young), and then there are those we just don't see and never did.We have everyone here that means family to us. What I didn't realize is how many of these people are ... how can I put this? Stoners. They are happy merry stoners, who, btw, are smoking something that smells like skunk. Back in the day, I loved the smell; I would hang out with people smoking even if I wasn't because I loved the smell. But I digress.

The five oldest people in the family, from the 88 year old aunt, a cousin and her husband, and the Sibs and her husband, do not partake. Nor do I, but two cousins (I mentioned them last night) in their fifties are pretty much the chief makers of the mischief. The only other one left out is the 15 year old (I hope.No wait, I saw him in his room reading s Star Wars novel, so he's still safe.) All the rest of themm, about a dozen, are in the happy party room.

I'm not making judgments. I just want to know when this became the family's defining characteristic. And now I'm going to let it go.

Beautiful, perfect wedding. I looked great, for an old bag.You'll see.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching not on
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here