the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And Today Was ... 782

06.10.2005

8:07 pm

Not as hot as yesterday, actually, which was a bitch. But we worked a couple more windows open today, and it rained here and there, which made it better for awhile, although the last one just made it more humid. I am so uninterested in doing anything at all at work when it's that hot. Yesterday I wore shorts. Today I wore a tank top. You know it's hot when I wear a tank top in public.

What I did do was fix a couple more things on the no books site (button below, google-paranoia prevents linking) and actually post two entries to it. The second one was inspired by the empress, who wrote her own library entry today, which you should read. My google problem, btw, is that I've taken off those Latin SL words on the old purple chai pages, but google has them cached, dammit, so searching the SL still links back to this page. I wonder how long that'll go on. Or if I'm just paranoid. I'm not saying anything about people at work, just general observations about being a librarian and how I'm all misunderstood, boo-frickety-hoo.

I just had ice cream for dinner. I've got seven more days of work, I've got seven more days to eat whatever I damn well please. I promise that I'll wake up on June 22 and become a whole new me.

Okay, I promise to think about it. On June 22.

My big decision for today, speaking of waking up in the morning, is to reset my alarm for 6:00 for the next week and a half, instead of 5:30. A big step, I know. Gotta get up at 6:00 tomorrow too; we're driving K back to Our Nation's Capital.

(Oooh, I had to look that one up. Capital? Capitol? I used to know this shit, I swear.)

Anyway, come 6/22, there's no alarm. Of course, I will still wake up at six something. It'll take until August 30 for me to sleep until 7:00 am without anesthesia.

I just opened my vitamin bottle to take one out for tomorrow morning and they are all orange! (I take Flintstones vitamins.) How can that be? Wouldn't that be against all kinds of odds? (There are maybe 190 left in the bottle out of the 200 it came with.) I'm just saying.

Our biggest challenge for tomorrow is deciding what to listen to in the car. The last time we went, we listened to George Carlin's book on audio. For nine hours. I don't need to listen to or watch George Carlin again for a long time, maybe ever, I'm not sure yet. For the moment, I have 500 Miles by Peter, Paul and Mary stuck in my head, because it's what came on this morning when I was showing the SCM my iPod.

(I confess that I do not remember the wonderful sniglet that golfwidow and spritopias have just invented for having a song stuck in your head. Help me out here? It was so good.)

My favorite Rich Hall sniglet was "mega-nega-bar." (The hyphens are mine.) This is the word that means that long wavy line you write on a check after you write the amount so that someone doesn't come along and add in "and a million dollars." The sniglet that I remember personally creating back in the 80s when this was all the rage was "chiblings." Your chiblings are your nieces and nephews, that is, collectively,the children of your siblings.

I'm all about the italics tonight. Tee hee.

As long as I'm rambling, here's my media tragedy from last weekend which I never go to write about because of the wedding and all. I turned on the radio last Saturday morning to listen to "Beatles for Breakfast" and the oldies station was ... gone! Seems that the radio station I've been listening to for thirty years decided to change its format Friday afternoon at 4:00 and by 5:00 it was done, bye-bye to DJs I've been listening to since my sister got her first transistor radio in 1959. I am nothing if not a creature of habit, and I do not like this very very much. I hear that Cousin Brucie just signed on with Sirius radio, and isn't that special. The last gadget I need is satellite radio. (Feel free to remind me next year that I wrote that.) And I do a lot of local driving, five minutes here, five minutes there, which is what radio is perfect for. Seems I'm not the "right demographic" for those radio programmers. I don't know, I'm pretty sure that there are still way more Boomers than there are of any other particular age group. Okay, maybe not more of us than let's say 20 - 45 all put together. But still. Lots of us.

Okay, my head is empty now. Thank you.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Keith Olberman
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here