the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Product Placement 784

06.12.2005

8:08 pm

I am having a very consumer-based day. And now I am going to endorse products, because a good review never hurts, and anyway, that's the kind of day I'm having.

First. I've been reading in other diaries that people are getting their d-land email spammed, and I just figured I hadn't been picked up and targeted. But here's what happened. I stopped using hotmail awhile back, because of the excessive spam, and switched to gmail. I have one personal address there, and one that I only use for d-land (the one in the email link on my template.) But the d-land email gets forwarded to the personal one so that I only have to log in and read in one place, and I haven't been getting any spam there. But just before, I logged in to the one I use for d-land and there were 80 messages trapped in the spam filter there. So, I am VERY happy with gmail; in fact, I've only ever gotten one spam message that came through either address and made it to the inbox. I have some gmail invites, so if you want one, email me at the address above, which is oldewoman at gmail.com, if you get my drift.

Second. I've said it before and I'll say it again: Maggie Moo's rocks.

Third. I got a new George grill today because Target had the new one, the one with the removable grill plates, on sale. Hoot! The grill plates come right off and get washed in the sink, and it has an on/off switch and it has a timer. I set it for 10 minutes and we had perfect teriyaki tuna. (Yes, I cooked a meal. I bought the fish already marinated and R made the veggies. I plugged in the George.) I think the grill plates are also dishwasher safe, but we don't have a dishwasher, and really, wouldn't know what to do with one if we had it. It's easier to just wash the dish or two, and you know, over the years, we've just learned to cook with as few dishes as we can and to wash them as we go along. (Because I also have, literally, two square feet of counter space.) Can't leave the George out all the time (see: lack of counter space); if I could, I'd really use it every day. But this was a super improvement, and now, even I can cook. I am so excited!


We've had one full day with one less person in the house, and in truth, it makes a difference. I don't think it would matter which one person it was -- well, one of the girls, anyway; the Hubs and I claim permanent residence status -- but the house is already neater, the fridge less packed (and R and I stocked up at the market this afternoon), and we ate dinner in instead of out. I eat in much more when either of the girls is home, but out much more when they're both home. (I never ate out, even fast food, when neither of them was home, except once in awhile with my sister.) And K is already very happy, back with her friends in D.C., especially since her schmucky friend/roommate is still away and so she's only got real friends there. Which makes mommy happy.

It's 83 degrees just now, after 8 PM, and the forecast says a high of 90 tomorrow. Which will be 95, at least, in my Big Box O' Hot Air. So I'm wearing a skirt. I know! First I make dinner and then I wear a skirt! This must be that change of life I've heard tell about.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here