the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Gloom 807

07.08.2005

7:27 pm

I always have a certain amount of trouble understanding how things just resume their normal routine after a major thing like what happened yesterday. This is not to say that I don't resume my own normal life and routine, I did today and I do, of course, but it seems like we all -- okay, not all -- go on as if nothing happened. It's a sort of bell-tolls-for-thee thing, though; I think these things diminish us all. Well, I'm not going to keep going on this, but if you haven't seen what alleged wife had to say on the subject, I think you should, because it was brief and to the point and right on target, at least to me. Another time I shall expound on what I think are our deep cultural ties to England, despite our own individual different ancestries.

The gloom today was atmospheric, as well as what lingered from yesterday; it rained horribly every minute of the day and continues to do so. Nevertheless, intrepid shoppers that we are, the Sibs and I went out to a few places and then to lunch, but turned back from our last mission because of the traffic. Since it was only 2:00 in the afternoon, the traffic was surely caused by bits of local flooding, and who needed that? But after I dropped her off, I doubled back off the highway and went to Sears, where they sell some Lands End stuff, and I got some sleeveless shirts that are not exactly tank tops, for walking.

I finally did walk in the mall again this morning, and I think the shin splints, or whatever they are, are better. I also have some good stretches to do that should help me avoid them in future. I'm still working out some other mall-walking kinks, but in general, it's very good. I'm not looking forward to doing it in the afternoons after school come September, but I guess that's what I'll do, if I can't carve out some walking time at school by getting there really early. Although I certainly wake up early enough to do that, so I'll see how that goes.

Speaking of that freakish institution of public education that employs me, they hired a new principal last night, which has got to make this the shortest search ever for a permanent principal, since the Psycho's retirement was only approved one week ago. Sounds suspicious, hmmm? What if I tell you that they just picked a principal from another school in town and just moved him up, to the big leagues, as it were? Hmmm? The scouting reports on this character are not good. I guess we'll see how that goes, too. Hey, the Big Crazy is gone, at least. So that's something.

7 days to Harry! *rubs hands together with evil gleam in eye, cackling with joy*

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here