the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Knew It 808

07.09.2005

4:08 pm

In a Past Life...

You Were: A Genius Herbalist.

Where You Lived: Tibet.

How You Died: Decapitation.




I did about a hundred errands this morning. Oh wait, that's totally not true; I did not do 100 errands. So either I don't know what I'm talking about (and I risk offending those who may, in fact, have done 100 errands this morning), or maybe it's a figure of speech. Listen, to the person who left me the ridiculous comment on yesterday's entry, if my manner of writing/speaking disturbs you, we have a cure for that now: stop reading my diary. Sheesh.

In truth, errand just seemed to begat errand this morning, when yesterday I had virtually nothing to do. I don't know how that happens. I didn't take a walk today but I did walk a lot; I think if it's nice out tomorrow morning I may take a park-walk. The only reason I don't generally do that is that the county park system where my town is, which is really, really nice, is actually a series of four or five small parks connected by a lovely bike path, which winds along the river, through trees and wooded areas. It's lovely if you're walking with someone, but kind of creepy if you're alone. But I remembered before that one of the parks is much larger than the others, and I can walk around the lake there a few times and not be in an isolated area, so I'm going to try that. Funny ...

I lived closest to this particular park when the girls were born, and I went there occasionally, but not often. In March, 1982, my father had a heart attack, and as part of his recovery, began walking every day (which he did until his legs began to bother him, maybe 18 years later), and he walked in this park because it was the nicest of them all at the time, it was the only one that had been renovated (if that's the word) up to that point.

I woke up the morning of Father's Day that year to find that it was a beautiful day; the Hubs had left before dawn to go fishing, which he still did then. So I packed up little R and my new camera and headed for the park. It was probably eight in the morning. I put her on a baby swing and took pictures of her, of other things, and then I turned around and saw my father walking briskly around the lake:

It should be cool and sunny in the morning, and the stores will be closed. A good combination for walking.

6 days to Harry!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching something
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here