the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It Was Only a Matter of Time 810

07.11.2005

6:56 pm

I was going to the doctor this morning for a regular blood test (to check cholesterol level) and get my blood pressure taken, and I figured they would put me on a scale there so I weighed myself at home before I left and I almost fell over on the floor.

Those twenty pounds I had just about lost this time last year? Fifteen are back.

I knew for sure that ten were back, but this was a surprise. I told the doctor that when I was sick a few months ago with diverticulitis and I ate nothing but toast for three or four days and spent the rest of that time in the bathroom that I gained five pounds. Which I did. That's when he ordered the thyroid test, too. So we shall see.

In the meantime, I went back on W8 Watchers for real today. It worked before, so let's hope it works again. If I do have a thryoid issue (which I kind of doubt), well then it's just one more pill to take, so that's not a big deal. I do think that this damn menopause is an issue, though; wish that were over and done with.

The thing about the WW is that I just think about food all day. Not longingly, so much, but planning, figuring out, etc. It's a good thing for me, in that I love that kind of thing, but probably one of the reasons I stopped it when I reached my goal weight last time is that I wanted some relief from it. It's a love/hate thing, I guess.

The Hubs' car -- which is really K's car, but she's away so he never bothered to get a new one when his died -- blew a tire on the way home today, so he's taking mine for the next couple of days since he has traveling to do. Not a problem, really; I'll bring it in to the garage since it's due for service anyway. Really, it's not like I need new or fancy cars to drive; I don't and I never cared about such things. I do think he should drive a grown-up's car, where everything works and it doesn't have a big dent in the front fender that we're never going to fix.

*4 days!*

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here