the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I've Said It Before 850

08.21.2005

2:25 pm

And I'll say it again. This house is not big enough for four adults. That bedroom upstairs is definitely not big enough for two adults.

K is going back to DC tomorrow, and not a moment too soon, because I think she's had it with her sister for now. R NEEDS A JOB! She needs a real job and a place to live to go with it. She's got a potential place and a roommate (her friend's mother owns a nice house that she rents out, and R and the friend could move into it) but first SHE NEEDS A JOB! Because as much as I want her to be on her own, us paying her rent is simply not an option. Bad enough we have to pay rent for the one who goes to college in another city.

Seriously, now, how do people save for retirement?

Later ...

And, speaking of which, crap.

I just had an interesting chat with K, who says that everyone she knows except for me is advising her that she should get a master's in history before she gets a master's in teaching. And I'm wondering, who are these everyone? Are they people who have any idea that she should get a degree that will get her a job so that her parents can stop supporting her? That once she's teaching, her school system will pay for her second master's degree? That her parents would themselves like to retire some day?

Not that the shock has worn off yet, but I did point out to her that her father and I are only paying for one, and that one is going to have to be at state-school prices. And I never intended to do that either, but having sent one to graduate school on us, my father having just died and left me the money to do it, it's fair to do the same for the other one. Even though the other one got a way more expensive undergraduate education, the money for which would have bought us all new cars as well as having no debt whatsoever at this point.

Later ...

So she's having a cranky day; I don't think she feels particularly well. And it didn't make her happy about 15 minutes ago when she tried to heat up some leftovers for lunch and the microwave wasn't working.

Shit. Now the microwave doesn't work?

I've been down this road before. I've had three microwaves over the course of the last 21 years or so; the first one, which said Radarange on the front, was the best one. Number Two had to be repaired twice, which is once more than I should have allowed, because it was a $90 service call that replaced a $7 part. Twice. Remember, I'm the one with brain damage. Anyway, I will never get a microwave repaired again because it costs about $100 to buy a new one, so what would be the point?

The last two times, I replaced the microwave the same day the old one broke, because I could more easily live without a stove/oven -- waaaay more easily -- than a microwave. What I'd like to avoid today is an extended trip out somewhere, anywhere, with both of the girls. I don't think I'm up to that. But if K goes out with friends, as planned, then I'll ask R if she wants to join me on an expedition to another county, where the stores are open on Sunday, and the deer and the antelope play. If not today, then I'll have to go tomorrow after K gets on the train, because the stores won't be open in time for me to go before, not to mention I'd have to move the new one in and the old one out by myself, sans Hubs. (Oh, R would do it, probably. She's a strong young thing.)

So, summing up my day:
  1. My children are sick of each other, and I'm sick of both of them.
  2. They will never move out on their own, either one of them, and they will expect to live here, bitching at each other, where we can support them forever.
  3. I will never be able to retire, and will have to become the world's oldest little old librarian, which the Hubs says will probably be a hard record to break.
  4. I am bleeding money, which is hemorhaging out of me.
  5. If anyone ever wants to eat in this house again, I'll have to get a new microwave, stat.
That's about it. Oh, and I haven't heard back yet from Sweet J, which means we won't get to see him today, which means that once we do see him (and the new apartment), K will be all "You went without me?"

Seriously. Too. Old. For. This. Kind. Of. Shit.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore girls marathon
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here