the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's Been a Full Day 875

09.13.2005

7:00 pm

I got very little sleep last night, thanks to an all-night hot flash, and that bizarre moment when the Hubs' teeth-grinding seemed impossibly loud and I looked and saw that his head was somehow under the edge of my pillow. So I didn't do my exercise video this morning -- first time since I'm back at school -- and then I went to work.

I swear, I do not recall Septembers being this hot when I was a kid. And humid today, too. I'm bringing a thermometer tomorrow, but the look on everyone's face when they walk into the library is enough. It's horrible there.

I hadn't looked out at the construction of the new wing for a couple of weeks; what I can see from outside seemed boring enough. But someone suggested I look out one of the upstairs classroom windows today, and this is what I saw:

This is uncropped and untouched; this guy and another were walking on the beams right outside the window. This is a part of the construction that can't be easily seen from outside, so I didn't even know it was there. I can hardly believe that they're actually making progress.

I did get a lot done today at work, but I don't have my book shipment on the shelves yet. I never get books in September; when I get an order mid-year, I can usually have it on the shelves the same day. I have checked out one or two from the cart, though, so I feel better about that.

I went right to Shoprite from school, and then saw when I got home that we were out of milk. But I had to wait to cool off some before I could go out again to get it. Then I actually got my exercise in; I'm not used to being here alone in the afternoons, not yet. I made a nice shrimp stir-fry for dinner, which was ready just as R walked through the door. That may be the first time in my life I've ever done that: had dinner ready and waiting for someone coming home from work. I am not a famous cook, as we know, but my timing is especially terrible. I've never mastered the art of having more than one dish ready at the same time.

The Hubs is teaching tonight, so he won't be home until after 10, and R is going to (hopefully her last night of) pub trivia, leaving right after Gilmore Girls and then home after midnight. Which will leave me with an hour all by my lonesome, and I think I may try to fit in a bit of yoga.

But for now, I could use a nap.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here