the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

So .. Yuck 892

09.30.2005

7:29 pm

It's Friday and payday, which is usually an unbeatable combination (except Friday-payday-day before vacation), but sadly, I am the idiot who is going back to work tomorrow morning to run that reunion group tour. The SCM says I'm psyching myself out for them to give me a hard time so I can give it right back to them, and he's right, but I sure would be feeling better about this whole thing if they hadn't been so nasty to me on the phone the other day, not to mention all the stupid demands they've been making for the last year.

I finally took a look at the invitation for that Hubs' office wedding we're going to tomorrow night, so now at least I know the name of the bride and groom. And guess what? The invitation says "black tie optional." Now, the Hubs does not own a tuxedo so he's clear, and I'm still wearing what I'm wearing, but I guess it's dressier than I thought. It's at a place not far from here, a catering place that exists to do weddings. It didn't strike me as a black tie sort of place -- it's on the other side of the parking lot from a CompUSA and a Petco, but on the far side -- but it just goes to show you. By the way, here's a potentially useful bit of information: if you're going to the wedding, don't wait until the night before to see what's in the gift registry. There's just not a whole lot left. All I can say is that if there's anyone even worse at this than I am, then all that person's got left to give is some cheap canisters and a whole lot of kitchen gadgets.

I'm not as tired as I was yesterday, but it was a busy day at work and now the Hubs is coming home late and R has gone into the city to meet some friends and it's me and the cats. In fact, I will probably not see R again until some time on Sunday, since she's going back into the city tomorrow while I'm at school and staying over after the improv show she's in. Am I a bad mom because I'm not going in to see her in it? Oh right, it's in Manhattan and starts at midnight. So unless beaming technology has finally been perfected, it's not going to happen. Let's assume that if she ever does appear on Saturday Night Live, the Hubs will drive in, or at the very least, I'll book a hotel room and stay there. I can't imagine what would prompt him to go to a live performance of a TV show, even if his child is performing in it. Although he did go to the high school shows they were in, although not the ones they only produced but didn't appear in. Interesting.

Damn, wouldn't that be cool, to see your kid on Saturday Night Live? Not that this is happening in reality; improv is a kind of hobby for her and unlikely to lead to anything, but just the thought, eh? I promise that if she's ever on it, I'll let you all know. I'll even tell you her name.

And speaking of those odd creatures I'm spending Friday evening with, I just caught Q licking out a frozen meal dish from the garbage -- euw -- which is behind a cabinet door with a child-guard lock on it, so I don't know how she got it, but they can be clever when they want to be. Mere minutes later, I didn't know where she was, but you know, cats turn up, so I took a basket of laundry down to the basement and there she was, sitting about a foot from the dryer, staring at the wall. Boy, is she strange.

Ah, the Hubs is just home, a good hour earlier than anticipated. Much better

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here