the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

In Case I Forgot to Mention It in the Last 24 Hours 916

10.27.2005

8:18 pm

Hate my job. Had to be said.

The Colleague told me today that I was "bringing them all down with me." Gee, I'm sorry that my work life sucks. I think her implication was that I should snap out of it. I reminded her that this is easier said than done, and that she knows it. She does. If I am bringing her down -- boo frickety hoo -- her only recourse pretty much is to snap out of it and not let herself be brought. And I am not universally bummed; in fact, I'm pretty good considering how terrible that place is. I just had another incident today, which I won't go into, and which was resolved within an hour or two. I think I'm entitled to react to incidents.

Enough of that shit.

So, once again without providing any useful details at all, let me say that my kid is ecstatic over her new job (Probably starting next week) and we are too. She will be working at a kind of community center where they offer classes in the arts to children, and some useful classes to their parents as well. There is also a cafe, and she has that kind of experience as well, oddly enough. She's going to be designing and presenting programs as opposed to actual teaching, although she may move into that area as well as she has a degree in teaching creative writing; she also has a great deal of drama/improv experience in a learning environment. She may have to live at home forever, however, on what she's making. You gotta take the good with the bad.

I am finding the current weather conditions bizarre. First, I think I only turned off the air conditioner about three weeks ago. We are anticipating the possibility of the first frost tonight. And the most freakish thing of all is that trees are still green and full. Oh, a few of the trees have turned and there are some leaves on the ground, but by and large, it looks like the trees of summer silhouetted against a winter sky. And the clocks change this weekend. It's all very unnatural, if you ask me.

I'm starting to see commercials for the Harry Potter movie, which of course makes me oh so happy. K and I will go see it when she's home for Thanksgiving. She's also my Narnia connection, so I guess we'll go see that when she's home for Christmas. And that'll hold me for a year or two, probably, since I so rarely go to the movies.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Everybody Hates Chris
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here