the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I'm Such a Petty Baby 935

11.15.2005

5:20 pm

Boo hoo.

As it turns out, I finally spoke to an actual heating system technician and he is coming to look over the Humidifier That Took Over My Life tomorrow morning. Which means I have to stay home from work. (K: "Do you ever work a whole week anymore?") Which puts me in the position of having to tell the SCM I'll be out, and following last week's debacle in which he petulantly told us he was going to be out by emailing us at un-used email addresses ("oh, I'm sorry!"), all I really want to do is get him back. Yes, I'm a petty baby. It's important to feel young, don't you think? Anyway, I will email him tonight -- at the right address -- but not until later.

Curiously, the asshole who announced publicly last week that the librarians are useless stopped me in the hall this morning and asked if he could have the library for one whole day in a few weeks because he's hosting a county debate tournament. They do this every year and we hate it, but we do it. I said he should see me in the library because I don't have the schedule in my head; he was on his way out to a debate event and said he would see me tomorrow. (Heh heh.) Then, about five minutes later, since his bus hadn't come yet, he stopped the SCM in the hall and asked him the same thing (and got the identical answer: "I don't have the schedule in my head.") I really have no grounds to refuse him (as the schedule is so far clear for that day) but I would love to make it contingent on an apology. I guess it's not my problem, though, since I won't be there tomorrow! Let's see how much the SCM can f-- this up. He's such a good example of a very bright person with extremely limited life-skills. Although I've got to admit, I think he may not be as bright as he would like to think he is.

My mishegass [craziness] on Saturday must certainly have been hormonal because I have been perfectly fine since then. Man, I just hate this crap, and I totally don't expect it anymore so it really surprises me when it happens.

I just stopped writing for a minute; my attention was grabbed by a commercial for Disney World. Oh, I really wanna go! I don't see it happening this year, or even next, probably, but it would make me so, so happy. Every time I've gone, I've figured out the absolute cheapest way to get there and stay there (it's part of the going-on-a-trip game, I guess), but I sure would love to just book a nice room at the Grand Floridian and fly first class. That's a part of my lottery dream, a big part. I just want to fly first class once in my life, that's all I ask. And stay in the classiest hotel. And maybe even order something obscenely over-priced from room service, like a $15 cheeseburger. Just once.

Good t.v. watching tonight. It's the highlight of my week.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here