the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Not Much 977

12.28.2005

4:03 pm

I slept weirdly last night, and ended up on the couch from about 2:30 on. I just could not stay asleep in the bed. Well, my throat is less sore today; I'm just sneezing and blowing a lot. Thanks for all your suggestions, buddies. I'm looking into them.

I just got my school website changed over, which seemed to go unnaturally well. I'm waiting for the phone call from my principal any minute now about something that he can't find or that's unavailable. Could be. I arranged to have a couple of kids review the site in its test form for broken links, directions that didn't make sense, and so on, but they never reported back to me. I'll have to fix the bugs as we go along.

I really have nothing big to do for the rest of the vacation, which is I guess what makes it a vacation. I've got the bills all paid to go in the mail on Saturday, including rebates filled out and other miscellaneous nonsense, like sending a gift for the baby shower I'm not going to in January. I copied pictures that I forgot to bring the MIL on Sunday and they're ready to go, too.

I'm not bored, as such, because whenever I relax and do nothing, I just remember that I feel like crap, and that occupies me for awhile. Okay, that sounds stupid. In a minute, I'm going to just sit on the couch and watch TV and do nothing else at all. This is something I rarely allow myself to do, or, as Shirl would have said, I don't fa-ginn myself (emphasis on the ginn). I can only assume this is a Yiddish word, although I've never heard anyone else use it except for my mother and grandmother.

We finished Lost season 1 last night, which was 24 episodes in 3 days. Oy. We're ready for season 2 now, which I've been recording since September. But K is out for the afternoon with a friend from school who also lives in New Jersey and who apparently has boyfriend potential. So that makes me plenty happy. Lost can wait.

I'm taking the cats to the vet on Friday for their annual checkup. The vet's office sent home a pamphlet about medical care for older animals, and recommends all kinds of annual blood tests, and more. I'm not doing that. If they're sick, they can have blood tests. So far, these two hairy little weirdos have defied a lot of medical pronouncements and recommendations, and are still going strong. Boo got the death sentence at his check-up two years ago, and here he is. Q eats the special food, oh and anything else she can scrounge up. Lately, she opens the cabinet with the child-guard latch on it to get to the garbage. So I think I need to have a reality-based talk with Mr. Vet. (Oh, I just thought ... I hope we're not going to the idiot vet who doesn't know cats. She was the death-sentence prounouncer. I'd better call and see who they scheduled us for.) Anyway, I just need someone to check them over and clip their claws. No heroic measures for these elderly creatures, love them as we do. It would just be cruel to them, no?

Okay, gonna call before the office closes, and then veg.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here