the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hee Hee 978

12.29.2005

8:21 pm

We went to see Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in IMAX today. I was the one wearing the 422nd Quidditch World Cup t-shirt. (Christmas present from K.)

Both of us have colds now and are feeling crummy, but either we have the colds or the colds have us, and we chose the former and made the drive (about a half hour) in the cold rain up to the great big Palisades Mall, where the IMAX is. Our original plan was to go see Narnia first at the regular theater in the mall, but we weren't quite up to that. We can see that at any local theater at any time, even once I'm back at work next week.

This mall is the biggest around here by far, four levels. We left time to have a nice lunch first (Friday's, I had a burger; I'm re-starting my diet next week, really) and do some shopping. Shopping. I never saw so many assholes in one place at one time. It was as if every human being in that mall had no concept of spatial relations. It was as if no one understood that there were other people anywhere around them. If you happened to be where someone was going, you were expected to get out of the way. While we were waiting in the queue to get into the movie, the idiot family in front of us just stepped back as if K was simply not there.

The mall was annoying today. Enjoyed the movie, though, even though the IMAX was no more spectacular than the regular movie. Good burger.

R is for some reason cranky, which, to tell the truth, I don't feel the need to deal with after going on 25 years, let alone after driving home from an unpleasant mall in the rainy dark. She seems only cranky with me, maybe because she had to work and we went to a movie. (Although she's not being snotty to her sister.) Frankly, I don't care why. Maybe if I don't bother to address anything to her for the rest of the evening, it won't give her the opportunity to mount a snotty comeback. Yes, I know I repeat myself. Sometimes I forget, and sometimes I'm just making conversation. With any luck, I'll be repeating myself off and on for the next 30 years. Get over it.

I am very, very tired. I know I should probably eat something for dinner; if not, I'll be hungry in an hour and then just snack until the Losts are finally over, which should be maybe midnight. Maybe an orange. When I'm sick, sometimes it seems that all I ever want to eat is toast and oranges. (I felt better when I had lunch.)

Or maybe just a nap.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Lost - 3 to go
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here