the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Revelation 992

01.10.2006

6:37 pm

So I've been drinking coffee since I was what? Maybe six years old. I would get up early on a Saturday morning and Jack was having a cup of coffee before going into the office to check his mail and he would make me a cup. It was probably half milk and half sugar and half coffee -- whatever -- but I drank it. I continue to take my coffee light and sweet, although now I use skim milk and sweet'n'low. But I digress.

Yesterday around 9:30 I went to the cafeteria with two colleagues, one of whom bought coffee for the other two of us. Today, the other of the three said she had a particularly easy morning getting her kids off to school, so she stopped at Dunkin' Donuts and got a cup each for yesterday's benefactor and for me. But she didn't know how I liked it, so she just got me a black.

Black coffee. ** shiver shiver shiver **

I didn't want to insult her, though, so I dropped in my s'n'l, which I keep at my desk, and sipped. HEY!

It was gooooood.

So what kind of a moron do I feel like now, finding out that black coffee is just as good, if not better, than that calorie-infested brew I've been ingesting all these years? Okay, that may be an exaggeration, because skim milk in coffee has maybe 10 calories. And people are telling me that this only works with good coffee, not your average school cafeteria swill. It's so much easier, though, to drink your coffee black, isn't it?

Huh. Live and learn.


While I was getting my nails done after school, my darling daughters went bra shopping. This is only of note because they found bras in their sizes and bought an obscene amount of them. I won't even give you the figure, because people will be dropping dead of shock all over d-land.

What can I say. We are wee folk with big knockers. If you find a 32 DD and it fits, you buy it in every color they've got. Never know when you'll run across one again.


We are having wonderfully unseasonable weather this week. Still not as good as this year:

>>><<<

These pictures were taken at the football stadium at the University of Maryland on January 12, 1972, my 19th birthday. 19, get it? It was maybe 70 degrees that day. Best. Birthday. Weather. EVER!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here