the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And For My Birthday, I Got ... 994

01.12.2006

5:20 pm

News.

According to my principal (whom I may now begin again to refer to as Mr. Nice Guy):


  1. We can probably stay in the library until May 1 instead of March 1.

  2. He thinks he's decided on a place for us to go when we close, one of the math department's computer labs, which is spacious and workable.

  3. They're seriously thinking of hiring professional movers to pack and store the library books. (This is the BEST one!)



If this keeps up, I may start writing in my "Without Books" blog again. I had to stop because I was just so seriously bummed about the entire process, which, because nothing was happening for so long, was really more of a non-process. If this keeps up, I may even start taking pictures of the construction again for the website. I'd pretty much lost interest in that.

So I'm on my way to school this morning, and was relatively close -- not that I have far to go under any circumstances -- and this song comes on the radio: Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong. I listened to every word, and I was even a little misty by the end. How sappy is that, that this corny song got to me? But it did. You know, it's a great song. I like other versions of it, too, but I think Louis' is the best. I know a whole lot of people who are just too cynical to enjoy this on any level, but I guess I'm not one of them. I even thought -- bear with me here -- that this is a song I would want played at my funeral.

My funeral, you ask? Well, sure. Now, when the time comes, maybe there won't even be a funeral. But I think I'd like to have one. Last chance to be the center of attention, and not even be embarrassed by it. I have a music mix that I first put together in the mid-eighties that I call my Magic Mix; it's been modified over the years and I'll probably add Wonderful World to it tonight. It's all songs that just make me happy. I've already left instructions that this is the music that's to be played at my funeral. In the beginning, when everybody's walking in, I want them to play The Mickey Mouse March. It's the theme of my childhood.

(Admit it: you think about stuff like this, too. Don't you?)

I got some really nice cards today (thank you, Yvonne!), which is funny because I never cared much for cards of any kind until just the last few years, and now I even read them and think about what they say. (Oy, I'm turning into my grandmother now.)

We are also going out to dinner, the four of us, when the Hubs gets home from work, which should be within the hour. We are going out for Thai food; being the non-adventurous type, this should be interesting for me. I don't actually care what we eat. It's nice to be all going out together. K hasn't been home for my birthday since she was in high school.

Having a good birthday is one of the my favorite cool things of all time.

Added later, around 7:45 -- Dinner was great, good food and had fun with the fam. And thanks, empress!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here