the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oh, Did I Forget to Write? 1041

03.01.2006

8:51 pm

Several times, in fact. I open up the program to type, and I get distracted. I come back, and there's two words of a title. The Hubs came home, I picked up Harry again, and now I'm back.

It's not as if I have anything to say. Writing at least a bit of drivel every day just seems like something I want to do.

About ten minutes before the end of the school day, I went on the P.A. (the public address sytem) and made my announcement about the library closing, books needing to be returned, etc. Three kids came in and dropped off books right after school, so I guess they heard me. A new teacher -- a mid-year permanent sub for someone who left -- came in for an I.D. card. I'd met him before, nice guy. He said that after I'd spoken, the kids in his class commented that I sounded sad. Did I? I only meant to sound serious. Also, I never knew before that talking over the P.A. makes me really nervous. Funny, isn't it? I would have been completely at ease standing on the stage in the auditorium and making the same announcement to the entire student body in person. For some reason that I've never been able to fathom, that doesn't bother me. Sitting alone in a room and speaking into a telephone receiver and knowing that everyone could hear my voice, that did it. I was sure I would stumble over a word or mispronounce something. Funny.

.
.
.
An hour later. Maybe an hour and a half. OldFriend called, a most enjoyable conversation. Often, these devolve into "Yeah, I can't remember anything anymore? How about you? Still having the hot flashes? How's your diet going?" Heh heh. As I've said before, we are one week apart in age, and we may be aging through life together, but wherever we go, she's a week ahead of me. We never did get to share a 50th birthday celebration with each other, but I've told her that we've got to do something big for our 58th, which will be the 50th anniversary of our friedship. Five years to go on that one.

Okay, got to post now, so I can settle in on the couch for Lost.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching waiting for Lost
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here