the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Here

04.04.2006

8:03 pm

I'm in Florida. Today has been a day of traveling, or, to be more precise, a day in Newark Airport. Tomorrow will be the day for family, and the day my aunt will hear about what has happened, so a serious day tomorrow. For now, an account of my day, more or less.

First, let me thank all of you wonderful people for your thoughts and condolences. It's a funny thing, you know, that more of my online friends know about this piece of my life than people I see every day; i.e., the people I work with, so I will not hear comfort in that circle. (People close to me at work know, but you know what I mean.) Your kind words mean a great deal to me.

On a lighter note, I am grateful for the widespread availabilty of broadband Internet! You know the James Lipton question, When you get to heaven, what's the first thing you'll say at the Pearly Gates? I think my first thing will be, You have wireless broadband, right? It was great at the airport -- 10:55 flight that left at 2:00, moronic people making non-announcements, last-minute gate change -- and now there's a free, although wired, connectionn in the hotel. I have emailed the Hubs, the Colleague, and the Chum, and read all your new entries. I'm still connected to the real world.

Because let me tell you, I have been in the surreal world all day. Thank god the even emotional state I mentioned last week is back in place, generally, although I'm not making predictions for tomorrow. (Although I am generally dependable in a crisis, even an emotional crisis.) I decided to let things go on this trip and just go along with however my sister wants to do things. I understand how it is to pacify a quirky husband in a relative situation, and she's the one whose quirky husband is with us, so I'm cool with it all, but seriously? The two of them are driving me a little crazy. If I were in a tense or stressful place to begin with, it would be sending me over the edge, but all I did was once roll my eyes, but I was in the back seat of the car, so nobody saw. I don't want anything to be a source of aggravation on this trip, because nobody needs that. What's the problem, you wonder?

Mostly, the two of them are 100% shmoopy 100% of the time.This means that they are constantly hugging and holding onto each other, stroking the other's back or neck, talking in baby talk. The baby talk is mostly her; actually, I think this is a kind of defense mechanism against dealing with the tragedy that we are here to deal with. The Sibs and I have always done the occasional line or two in baby talk or funny voices; it's part of who we are. (Not as bad as the old Saturday Night Live skit, if you know that one!) But she has done this consistently all day, and they are talking cutesie to each other, and it's about enough for me. I know she won't do this at my aunt's tomorrow, of course. But the two of them went out shopping tonight and I said, Hey, you guys go! I'll just catch up on the computer!

I think this also somehow means that I missed dinner, because I am on their time schedule which is so not mine, and I have no idea what's going on. There was a free snack in the hotel lobby -- nachos -- and then she said something about, Well, that's dinner. It was? I wish I knew that. I'm guessing that if they're hungry, they'll pick up something in the mall. As for me, I have my complimentary can of Sierra Mist. If that doesn't hold me until bedtime, I'll call room service.

Well, I feel better now, thanks for listening. I don't expect to post tomorrow, although I may write a bit very late. I can't even wrap my brain around the possibilities of what tomorrow is going to be.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here