the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And What Did YOU Do Today? 1084

04.11.2006

5:05 pm

If you want to know why I didn't take the card catalog home, read today's earlier entry.

We are all completely moved out of the library and relocated, dispersed, as it were. The Colleague is in the general office, and the SCM and the media aide and I are in the computer lab. It is very, very strange. I did pause and look back for several minutes as we left, but knowing that I will be there tomorrow to oversee the packing of the books made it a bit more bearable. I have a little corner niche in the computer lab and we will be okay, although it is a peculiar and sad thing. I am fairly certain that the administrators who decided to do this have no idea whatsoever what the disruption to the school will be. But I am okay.

After all of it was moved, including the yellow chair into my car, one of the custodians snuck me into the new construction and I got me a good look at that. What can I tell you? It is all as foolish and badly planned and badly done as we suspected it would be all along. The library is not bigger than my old one, just differently shaped. Clearly, it was designed by people who were trying to create a pretty space, but who have no idea that it should also be a functional one. In case I ever doubted that -- I didn't -- I got an up-close look at the eight pillars that dot the interior of the room. When I had once asked the architect why on earth there were pillars in there, he said condescendingly "To hold the ceiling up." Well, duh. First, there's a truss roof over the new cafeteria right next to the library, so I guess they know how to build something without pillars in it and still keep the ceiling up. But today, I looked up into the not yet completed ceiling and saw that the pillars weren't holding up anything; it's a steel beam suspension ceiling and the pillars are indeed decorative. If that's what you like for decoration.

I won't even go into the other foolishness, except that they have put walls in places other than what I saw on the blueprint, and some of them are in front of windows. I can't even explain that one in words. One wall is in the wrong place, and now there are windows that were supposed to provide supervision from the library into the computer lab, except the windows are in a store-room now. Yes, these architects are real whizzes.

In other news, I realized this morning that last night when I "woke up" and had a little snack, I ate a pint of ice cream. I have never eaten a pint of ice cream in one sitting before, not even pregnant. So when I go back to dieting, I'm facing a bit of a challenge. I'm going to have to be velcroed to the bed every night to keep me from getting up and eating. I do have some awareness when I do it, but no judgement at all.

In yet other news, the virtual memory available on the Internet is so much better than the reall memory in my head! All credit goes to the empress, who remembered -- or found somewhere -- the name of the make-up I couldn't remember. It's Vital Radiance. Isn't that what I said?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Nanny
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here