the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Natural Form 1085

04.12.2006

5:01 pm

I'm typing out today's entry, but if you want to see it in its original form, it's here in a pdf file. I wrote it in the library this morning.


I was thinking today, as I watched the organized chaos, that over the years, I really have relocated every part of the library collection except non-fiction -- and I've done parts of that, too. What was the Reference Section until this morning used to be the Fiction Alcove. I've had stacks moved from one place to another. I've seen the entire collection disrupted before, boxed and stored, when they removed asbestos from the school 22 years ago and put the "new" carpet in.

So I'm okay.

I thought my ceremonial last move would be taking the flag down off its mount on stack 9, but I did it while I was waiting for the movers to come. I'll put it up the the Goofy Library when it opens.

It's 9:35 and I'm writing this LONGHAND!! Horrors! Most days, this is the beginnning of 3rd period: coffee time! But now, I'm watching, taking occasional camera-phone shots. Piece by piece, it's all going.

They've brought in over 1000 boxes, and the book packing seems okay. They appear to know what they're doing. It's what I came to see. Otherwise, my chief function seems to be telling the movers where the men's room is. But I'm glad I'm here. This is the closure day that I've been needing.

I was walking through the stacks before, eye catching on one title or another. I found myself touching some here and there, a tap good-bye, see ya later. I think I was telling them that they'll be okay and they'll be home soon. So, I am apparently the perfect Goofy Librarian for the Goofy Library. I talk to books.

Like my cats, who head immediately over to occupy any newly-emptied space, I'm watching the computer tables move out and I know I will stand in the open space when it's empty. I'm thinking: I put those tables there, picked them out of a catalog, lines them up. I ordered the nice square library tables -- is it 12 years ago? that match, the chairs. So much of the library is my vision, my polan. I don't think I had that sense until now.


Gee, stuff takes up a lot less room typed than handwritten, doesn't it?

So, after I finished writing that -- I couldn't bear to keep writing by hand; my handwriting doesn't even look like mine anymore -- I stayed there until about 2:00, taking pictures and schmoozing with the custodians who were on duty today. The movers were very, very nice and way more efficient that I could have imagined. They'll be finished tomorrow instead of Friday. The construction chief came through, a much more pleasant fellow than the arrogant S.O.B. architect, and I asked when the work on the library space will begin. Monday. That actually made me feel better, because I would have been so annoyed if they hadn't begun the work until June. At least we moved out for a reason. He also assured me that he is going to save my beautiful doors, and said that the principal had specifically mentioned it to him himself.

Okay. I'm going to be done with the end of my library now. It's gone and I'm going to miss it, but there are other things to think about. R is due any minute for dinner and Lost, and we have to decide where to go to eat. K is coming home on Friday for Easter. And I have to clean tomorrow. Clearly, the issues that need to be focused on henceforth.

Not long after I got home, one cat and then the other were working furiously to get behind a pile of boxes and stuff in the corner of the family room near my desk, so now I keep glancing over there to see if there is some incredibly stupid mouse about to make an appearance. Neither of my cats knows how to kill a mouse, they just torment it until it gets away. I've never seen them kill anything and I've only ever seen a mouse in the house once, but we get crickets in the basement for some reason and they can catch them but can't kill them. (The one mouse escaped as well.) The thought of a mouse in the house creeps me the hell out, but I suppose it's not the worst thing you could have. If I ever saw a rat, or god forbid a snake, I'd have to sell the house immediately and leave everything behind.

Okay, I'm posting before the kid gets here.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Nanny
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here