the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Are You Sitting Down? 1086

04.13.2006

6:33 pm

I had a lovely day off today, one of two I'm getting for Spring Break this year, although tomorrow shouldn't count since we always close schools for Good Friday. (Do they do that everywhere, I wonder?) So what did I do with my day?

I cleaned my house. I know! I can't believe it either.

I had planned to get up today and really work on the bathroom, but I also knew that this had no connection to whether or not I would actually do it. Imagine my surprise when my little plan expanded itself into other rooms. And it's not like I just slavishly cleaned and did nothing else; I worked in a Target trip and gave the Christmas Tree Shop near me a second chance, too. (I didn't like it any better this time.) I took Boo to the groomer. In fact, the only thing I should have done and didn't was call the vet to see if I could get Q's claws clipped -- she's vicious if anyone tries to hold her, and can't be taken to a groomer, nor will she let us do it.) Boo is now all pretty-smelling and I managed to clean up cat hair everywhere while he was gone.

I am proud of me.

It was also a perfect spring day (although it's raining now), which reminded me that we've had very abbreviated springs and autumns the last few years: it's been freezing cold and then hot hot and then cold again. Maybe we've had a transitional week in between. But this clear weather in the 60s would be nice for another month or so. Although the pollen is out now, and I could pass on that. My sinuses already know it's allergy season.

Oops, I just saw what time it is. Better call the Sibs before my window closes.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here