the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oh, I Had the Title Wrong 1090

2006-04-18

12:34

Oh, heavens. Slow doesn't even begin to describe what is going on here in the computer lab. Not a single class scheduled for yesterday showed up -- there were six -- and the teacher who booked the day today is absent, so no one there. I wish I could turn on the radio or something.

It's school budget voting day, but I haven't voted yet, as I usually do first thing in the morning, since R is coming home for dinner and to vote. (She's still on the books here, since she moved within the last 90 days.) If the budget doesn't pass, the school system will be in trouble deep, but we'll wait and see. As for dinner, I have no idea what she wants to do, but I will need to eat more carefully than I have been for the last month or two, although not insanely. I think I will be losing weight very slowly this time around, and probably nothing at all this week. Last night -- this morning, actually -- between 1:00 and 2:00 am -- I ate continuously. This is not good, but when I am not really awake I just have no self-control. I'm trying to get into that head place where I convince myself before I go to sleep that I will only eat certain things when I get up. We'll see how that works tonight.

I think typing on this little computer desk I'm using now is giving me carpal tunnel syndrome or some such thing. This strain or whatever it is below my right elbow was better most of the day today but is really bothering me now, since I started typing a lot. I just can't seem to find the right place or level for the keyboard. I just dropped it to the keyboard shelf; I'll see how that goes. Actually, now it hurts farther down, closer to the wrist. Maybe I can go on disability.

You know what really aggravated this injury, of course: cleaning. I have always maintained that housecleaning just cannot be good for you, and now I have my proof. I think I injured my arm originally when I was schlepping luggage on the way to and from Florida two weeks ago; at first, it hurt on both arms (as I had been switching back and forth, right to left, as I dragged the rolling suitcase) but since I'm back, only the right arm, which is the one I use for everything. Kvetch, kvetch, kvetch.

Damn. Wish I had something to eat.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching the paint peel
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here