the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

As These Things Go 1114

05.14.2006

8:25 pm

(and I don't generally care for these things, either the crowds or the ceremony), it went well. It didn't rain until after the ceremony and even after we had gone to the campus arts center for the reception. Then it rained, but not horribly so. We made it to the campus shuttle stop and then to the Metro, but the Metro was shut down for where we were going -- it had been on the way there, too -- so we took a cab, as we had ended up doing in the morning. Turns out there was a nasty Metro accident this morning. Cabs are fine, though, although we'll be able to walk to the restaurant, which we'll be leaving for in a few minutes. For now, we're having a brief respite at the hotel, since the cab got us here much sooner than the Metro would have.

When I can figure out how to do it from Maxx, I'll post a picture or two.

For most of the day, as it happens, I have been freezing cold, since it's much colder here than anticipated. I should have brought sweaters and a coat, but of course, who would bring such things to Washington in May? I have a bright yellow rain jacket, which I'm getting a lot of laughs for from the girls, but they haven't lost me in a crowd yet, so there. I've also been really hungry most of the time I've been here, since we haven't really been having regular meals or anything. I got a yogurt this morning at Starbuck's with my coffee, and I had a granola bar before the graduation, and a half a brownie and one cookie at the reception afterwards. I ate similarly yesterday, I think, and then chowed down last night at the Chinese restaurant, as I expect to at the Italian restaurant within the hour.

Later ...

If you find yourself in D.C., go to Al Tiramusu, an Italian restaurant on P street, just off Dupont Circle. It was truly outstanding: the food, the service, the atmosphere. It was certainly pricey, but listen, I've only got the two kids, and neither of them is graduating from college again, so there. I ate a week's worth of WW points, or at least, a weekend's worth. Also okay with me.

We're leaving at the virtual crack tomorrow, picking up R at K's at 7:00 (by which time the Hubs will have been up for two hours and I for one, at least), and then heading north. My two goals for the day involve stopping for a latte somewhere along the way and getting a couple of things done in the house before I pick up the cats.

Happy Mother's Day, everyone.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching West Wing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here