the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Draggin' 1131

05.31.2006

7:42 pm

I woke up at four this morning, wide awake, after a disturbing dream. I woke up the same way yesterday, only not as early. It's enough to make me not even want to sleep. of course, by 7:00, when it was time to leave the house, I craved a nap, and if I had put my head down at all I would have been a no-show. Not that anyone except the SCM and the Colleague would have noticed.

Maxx came to school with me today, which made for some odd moments, since I was then working at a teeny desk with two computers on it. I had forgotten Maxx's mouse at home, and kept grabbing the PC mouse because it was right there, and nothing would happen and I would remember that I had to use the touchpad. Maxx gets no Internet at school, so I had to use the PC for that. It was the highlight of my work day.

After school I went for a manicure, and I could barely keep my head up. I wish I could tell you what I've been doing since then (instead of writing my entry), but other than talking to K on the phone for a half hour or so, I have no idea. It's that kind of day.

She's coming in tomorrow for the weekend, so it's a trip to the train station to pick her up for potentially the last time. One more taking her back on Monday and then, I hope, I'm done with that place for a good, long time, if not forever. That would be something. This station was built when I was in college in Maryland, and my father would do the ferrying then so I could get the train back and forth to school. And then R had a boyfriendc down there, and we would take her so she could visit him (or pick him up) and then K for the last four years going to school in D.C. I've got a lot of connections there, not all good, most that I won't miss. Keep your fingers crossed for this really being the end.

It's about twenty to eight; I want to go to sleep nooooooooooow. But I don't want to wake up at 2:00. It's the razor's edge.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here