the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Adjusting 1132

06.01.2006

7:34 pm

It was godawful hot in the computer lab yesterday, so today I made appropriate adjustments. Appropriate for whom is not exactly clear.

I wore a sleeveless blouse, and sandals. Folks, I do not so much do this. It's actually kind of unusual that I even own a sleeveless blouse and sandals. I have not worn sleeveless since I was old enough to whine at my mother "I'm not wearing tha-a-at!" Why? Part of it is that I have a birthmark on my left upper arm, which, really, was much darker when I was young and also much larger, proportionately. Other kids would poke it and say "What's that?" and I hated it. Now it's barely noticeable, and anyway, I don't think I would be so sensitive after all these years even if it were. But I just never cared for the look of a sleeveless blouse. The only reason I bought a couple last year is that whole pesky hot flash thing, which occasionally makes sleeveless desirable.

Sandals, on the other hand, I like, but they are really not for me. I wear shoes and socks pretty much full-time unless I'm sleeping or taking a shower, and I like that just fine. The sandals I have are really comfortable -- Merrells, like every other shoe I wear, the only shoes that don't leave me with an aching back -- and look fine. And my pedi actually shows. But the first thing I did when I got into work this morning was catch the front of my foot under the wheel of my desk, OW! Oh right, you wear shoes to protect your feet! I remember now!

Otherwise, today was more of yesterday, loving Maxx and being grateful for giving up the website every time some idiot wants me to do something stupid. The chore for today was adding a / to a PDF file. And someone else had a bigger change to make on a PDF file; I told him I needed his original Word file and he stormed away when I told him my computer doesn't have a floppy drive. Well, excu-u-use me!

Speaking of the website thing, there are four days left of classes, then four days of finals, then two days of graduation/cleaning up/closing out. The four days of finals are pretty busy for me, since that's when my end-of-the-year duty kicks in and I process all the reports of lost textbooks and the kids who have them. In the four days before finals, I have to work on this powerpoint thing that I created for graduation a few years ago and that I need to update every year. They haven't even given me the information I need to do that yet. And as of the last day of school, I am no longer the webmaster. (God, I hate that expression. I'm sorry I ever taught it to them, back in the day when it didn't sound all whiz-bang Harry Potter. But I've never been able to get anyone to say "Website Manager.") I'm wondering now about all the crap I update on the site in the summer, and how I asked someone months ago to get it to me by June 1st. Uh, that's today, and the next week and a half look pretty well occupied. I wonder what they're going to do about that?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here