the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Don't Know Quite How to Begin 1133

06.02.2006

7:29 pm

Those exact words -- my title up there -- are exactly what I said to my principal this morning after stepping into his office. It was a way better opening than what was really on my mind, which was "WHAT THE FUCK!!!"

I wanted to come across puzzled, sad, hurt, and strong, which apparently I did, because the Colleague, temporarily relocated to the area just outside his office, could hear the whole thing. (She said that she's never heard my speak loudly and firmly like that before.) I don't quite remember how much of the shit at work I've detailed here in the last month or two, other than my utter boredom, but it was decided at some level that when the new library opens, the Colleague will no longer be our secretary, but will work in the counseling office, and they're transferring someone into the library from elsewhere in the school district. About six weeks ago, having heard a rumor of this, I begged the principal not to do it. When it was decided four weeks ago, he didn't have the common courtesy to tell me. (The Colleague was informed -- not my him -- and of course she told me, and it's common knowledge in the school by now.) Anyway, after my opening this morning, I said that I've heard via rumor that there are personnel changes being made in the library, and when was someone going to tell me? After trying to justify the move -- it's terrible, but I know they can do that -- and trying to justify himself -- no way on that one -- he finally decided to be a man and he apologized for not telling me. Yeah. Good.

I was also in there on another potential disaster, which he assured me -- for the fourth time -- is not happening, despite the fact that I saw a memo from him yesterday that says it is. He seems to me to be a seriously truth-challenged guy. I swear. People just ain't got no morals anymore.

If you don't believe me, read this.

In other news, both of my children are in the general vicinity, something I enjoy. K and I visited my new home-away-from-home, the Apple Store, after school today, to investigate the purchase of her graduation gift, which we'll do when she comes home for real in two weeks. Then R came by, we had sushi, the two of them went out to meet a friend for drinks, and they'll be back shortly because it's Degrassi night! Tomorrow morning, K will get her Target fix, and then Sunday we're off to the ILs. I'm spending a Sunday in June on the Garden State Parkway; pray for me. (It's the only main road to the Jersey shore. Wasn't it nice of the folks to move down there?)

Now I sound all bitchy, but I'm really in a relatively good mood. (Of course there was other crap at school, but, another time, perhaps. I am in a good mood. Really.)

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here