the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Quick! 1134

06.03.2006

6:31 pm

If you're reading this in anything close to real time -- between six and ten on Saturday night, June 3, Eastern Standard Time -- click this link and you can listen to my nephew on the radio. Click the Listen Live! icon on the page. Radio is his dream, and even though he's making his living these days writing sports, I think it's very cool that he keeps plugging, and somehow made this sports talk show happen, even though it's on a relatively small local station. LA, if you're reading, you can probably get reception on a radio, but we're a little out of range here in Jersey.

Okay, new tack. I have no new tack. It's been a rainy, humid, icky day -- again -- and I woke up at four a.m. again, so I'm very tired. Went to Target in the morning, as planned whenever K is home, and to a bookstore a little while ago, and we just had some Chinese food for dinner and now I feel like I could go right into hibernation.

Our neighbors on the friendly side are putting up a fence, an unpleasant rainy-day chore, but I like fences, in general, although many of the housing lots here in Bizarro Town do not have them. We are in every way a suburban tract town, with blocks carved up into neat little lots that abut each other on both sides and in the back, but often, we just know where one property ends and the other starts. I wanted a fence when the kids were little, but it didn't happen. Now the neighbors have a two-year old and are putting in a little pool, so they need a fence. I did not anticipate a seven foot fence, however, which seems a little extreme to me unless your house, like the ILs former house, backs onto a major street. I'm thinking that this is going to make our yard a little claustrophobic, but hey, it's not like I spend much time out there because, you know, it's outside. The Hubs lives out there all summer, though. We'll have to see. Personally, I'd wait for a dryer day to dig those post-holes and sink that fence in there, but whatever.

I would be getting so much more out of this radio show -- it's streaming as I type -- if it weren't about sports. I mean, I'm fond of baseball, but I don't so much know about it, other than how it's played; I'm not following any teams anymore as I used to. But the depth of Good Guy's knowledge is really astounding me. Not that he knows about baseball; it would be virtually impossible for him not to, given the fact that the male role model in his life was my father, and that talking about baseball was all he ever wanted to do. But I can tell that he's analyzed all of this to a tremendous degree, and that he has encyclopedic knowledge that he's recalling on the fly as he speaks. It's really something.

We're off down south to see the ILs tomorrow, so let's all hope for less than lovely weather. A cloudy, misty day will do wonders towards eliminating the shore traffic.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching listening to sports radio
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here