the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Okay, Then 1147

06.17.2006

5:17 pm

The ordeal of the movers is over, at least. They got to K's apartment right on time this morning at 10:00 on the button, and here at 4:30. Everything is unloaded, the upstairs room which, this morning, was the cleanest and emptiest it's ever been in 20 years, is now a disaster again, boxes piled in the hallway and generally a mess. *sigh*

Otherwise, let's see. My doctor's visit this morning was uneventful, although my blood pressure was slightly high and he changed some meds, but told me not to start the new ones until my cold is gone.

Oh, and I made a major life-style change today. I bought a pair of capri-length jeans.

Capri-length pants are one of those things that I just don't get. Wear pants or wear shorts, huh? My theory is that they don't look good on anyone (although clearly they look good on some people. Tall people, I had always assumed.) But these look okay, and so here I am. The other thing I don't get is short-sleeved sweaters. Y' know? You wear a sweater for warmth, so why would you wear a short-sleeved sweater? I'm just saying. They don't make sense to me.

So I'm off to D.C. tomorrow at the crack of whenever I get up. I don't know if K's Internet is being turned off as of tomorrow night or as of Monday morning, so I don't know if I'll be reading or writing tomorrow, but I'm sure I will if I can.

It's been a long and weird, not to mention expensive day, and I didn't even go anywhere. I do hope that someday my children will be self-supporting and I can keep some of the money I earn. Or retire. That would be nice.

Happy Father's Day, all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Pillow Talk
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here