the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Next? 1148

06.19.2006

4:49 pm

Welcome to the first day of ... well, maybe not the rest of my life, but my life for a while. In March, one kid moved out. As of today, the other one is moved back in.

You know, I enjoy my kids' company tremendously. Even so, comes a time, I think, when you kinda want your house to yourself. But I'm not complaining, not at all, just saying. Each of my kids is individually a delightful companion. I'm good.

So, My Big Adventure. I left the house around 7:00 yesterday morning and pulled onto K's street in D.C. at noon. I stopped several times and otherwise listened to Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix all the way down. There was absolutely no traffic anywhere at all, even on the Beltway.

Uh oh. At 11:30, I passed one of the those electronic clock/temperature things on the Beltway and it was 95 degrees. At 11:30 in the morning. Not looking good.

So yes, it was ghastly, deadly hot, but it was at home, too. Home, however, is blessed with central air conditioning. K's apartment was blessed with two energy-conscious and penny-pinching roommates. It was nasty, baby. But they weren't so much turning on lights, either, so it was mostly the going outside that was nasty. We had a lovely dinner out, but I thought I was gonna freakin' die by the time I got there. K did sweetly turn on her room A/C when we went to sleep, or I would have been a puddle of hot-flashed goo by morning.

Still hot today. K and I went out for breakfast and then turned in her cable box and modem, which her roommate is apparently going to forego in the name of she has a job but doesn't get paid much, and then we headed north a little before 10:00. We got home at 3:30, which is a long trip, but we made many, many stops. Oh, and there was the little detail of the wrong turn I took in Delaware, which set us back a half hour or so. So we drove, we listened to Harry, we ate pretty much continuously.

That's where I've been. I read diaries last night, but I was just too damn hot to write one of my own.

Tomorrow morning I'm off for a haircut, and then after that to see if I can get my hearing aids fixed or re-programmed or something. They're just not cutting it anymore, and I really don't think I should have to replace them yet. They're maybe three years old, and they ain't cheap. I want you to record this date for posterity: I just said I don't want to buy new gadgets. Either I'm finally growing up, or I'm just getting old.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching TNG
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here